2017

decided-my-2017-starts-on-february-1stthis-was-just-a-trial-month-4f8f9 Pic Source

Is it February already? Where did January go? I am so caught up in things and work and I don’t know what that the first month of the year just flew by and I could not even write a post to welcome the year……sigh! But as I always say, better late than never! 🙂

Like last year, I am signing up for the 2017 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge. This year’s 12 motifs for the 12 months are – motif-challenge-1motif-challenge-2

Participating in the 2016 challenge was real fun; I read a lot of books from genres I usually don’t read and also picked up books which were lying neglected in my shelves. Also, finding a book every month to match the motif was quite informative as I discovered quite a many new/interesting books. Thanks to girlxoxo.com for hosting this challenge!  I look forward to a fruitful reading year in 2017 too. 🙂 🙂

P.S. I cheated on one rule of the challenge and I am yet to post reviews of all the books I read for the challenge……I promise myself to do it soon!

For now, I am sharing the list of 12 books I read in connection with the challenge.

JANUARY- Who Dunnit? Crack the case and solve the mystery with your first book of the year

[Book I read- And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie]

and then

FEBRUARY- New Releases: Read a book released in the last year. 

[Book I read- Fluffy and Me by Anita Krishnan]

fluffy

MARCH- Take a Trip: Time Travel or read a book set in a country different than where you live

[Book I read- – Princess by Jean Sasson]

princess

APRIL- Best of the Best:Read a book that has won recognition or a literary award

[Book I read- Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri]

unaccustomed.jpg

MAY- Story of Survival – Make it out alive, beat the odds, save yourself stories. Try thinking beyond the typical wilderness survival. Surviving high school? Surviving a family road trip? Yep- those count too! PS. Dystopians would work great in this motif too.

[Book I read- I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai]

malala

JUNE- Girlxoxo Recommends – Make it out alive, beat the odds, save yourself stories. Try thinking beyond the typical wilderness survival. Surviving high school? Surviving a family road trip? Yep- those count too! PS. Dystopians would work great in this motif too.

[Book I read-The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce]

harold

JULY- LOL –Hilarious memoirs, silly chick lit, comedic scifi. Pick a book that is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud.

[Book I read-What I was Doing While You were Breeding by Kristin Newman]

what-i-was-doing

AUGUST- Genre Jumble – Read from a genre that you don’t normally read from  

[Book I read-Corridor (a graphic novel) by Sarnath Banerjee]

corridor

SEPTEMBER- Steampunk, Science Fiction, and Fantasy Pretty self explanatory and loads of great books to pick from in this motif.
[Book I read- Coraline by Neil Gaiman]

coraline.jpg

OCTOBER- Things That Go Bump in The Night (Cozy mystery ghost stories, paranormal creeptastic, murder mystery- it’s up to you!)

[Book I read-Season of Ghosts by Ruskin Bond]

475229

NOVEMBER- Fiction Takes A Break (It’s all about Nonfiction November this month!)

 [Book I read- Shadow Behind the Throne by Jatin Hazarika)

shadow-behind-the-throne

DEC- That’s a Wrap (Finish a series you’ve been meaning to finish or read the next book in a series you started but never finished)

[Book I read-The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce]

love-song

I loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry so much that i had to read the 2nd book which tells us the other side of the story. And I am so glad I did. 🙂

The other 19 books, out of the total 31 books, that I read this year are –

2016 rads.jpg

  1. Draupadi: The Fire Born Princess by Saraswati Nagpal
  2. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  3. Mango Chutney by Harsh Snehansu
  4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzerland –
  5. The Spectacular Miss by Sonia Bahl
  6. The Blue Umbrella by Ruskin Bond
  7. A Monsoon of Music by Mitra Phukan
  8. The Room on the Roof and Vagrants in the Valley by Ruskin Bond
  9. Six Degrees by Blogadda.com
  10. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  11. Those Immigrants! By Scott Haas
  12. Penumbra by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay
  13. The Dalai Lama’s Cat by David Michie
  14. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood and The Story of a Return by Marjane Satrapi
  15. Band Baaja Boys by Rachna Singh
  16. The Legend of Lakshmi Prasad by Twinkle Khanna
  17. Until I Met You by Ishani Malhotra
  18. Ukridge by P.G. Wodehouse
  19. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

How has been 2017 to you guys so far? Did anyone else sign up for any reading or other challenge? Share everything in the comments section and you can also drop links of interesting post of yours which I might have missed in the past 1-2 months.

11 comments

  1. A challenge like this is one way to test your limits. I would have to skip a couple of them, especially the thriller. In you list of books from last year, I have only read one of them – Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri, a fabulous book.
    I thought I’d be caught up by now after our move, but I am nowhere near caught up, in fact, it seems I keep getting further and further behind. When this new grandbaby arrives next month, it will only get worse. I spend so much time with Josie and soon I’ll have another to snuggle and cuddle and get to know.
    Have a wonderful time completing your challenge. Hugs, my dear friend.

    1. Thanks Michelle! You are always so encouraging 🙂 🙂
      I am joining the challenge for the 2nd time because its fun to read books from genres I generally don’t read and end up liking some of them too; in the process I also discover some amazing books 🙂
      Josie is too cute and a good enough reason to delay all other things to be done 😀
      Congrats and best wishes for the next one who is coming soon ❤ :*

Would love to hear your thoughts.........