2016

Happy-New-Year-2016-HD-Images-for-tumblr-downloadย Pic Source

At the very outset I would like to wish everyone a very happy new year! I wish that your life is filled with happiness, love, good health and lots of new adventures! ๐Ÿ™‚

For me, 2015 flew by, literally; I experienced various ups and downs, travelled to new places, tasted some new food for the first time and learnt many a new and important life lessons. I do not do New Year resolutions but focus on living one day at a time but at the same time I always try to push myself a little bit out of my comfort zone and do something new.

The only regret I have for 2015 is in regards to the number of books I could read this year. Towards the second half of the year, I got quite slow and I could read only 28 books out of the 30 books I challenged myself in the Goodreads Reading Challenge. However, I did read some amazing books. Anyhow, this year I am again challenging myself to read 30 books; the number is not quite big since like last year my focus is to read some great books which have been in my to-read list since forever and some others which are of not the genres I generally prefer to read. So, along with the Goodreads Challenge, 2015, I am also joining the 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge. I read about the latter in the blog THE GREEDY READER and the very idea of reading a book every month belonging to a different genre was quite interesting and challenging for me. And hence, I have decided to join in the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are the month-wise themes for 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challengeย โ€“

monthly-motif-sign-up

The Motifs

JANUARY- Who Dunnit?
Crack the case and solve the mystery with your first book of the year.

FEBRUARY- New Releases
Read a book released in the last year.

MARCH- Take a Trip
Time Travel or read a book set in a country different than where you live

APRIL- Best of the Best
Read a book that has won recognition or a literary award

MAY- Story of Survival
Make it out alive, beat the odds, save yourself stories. Try thinking beyond the typical wilderness survival. Surviving high school? Surviving a family road trip? Yep- those count too! PS. Dystopians would work great in this motif too.

JUNE- Girlxoxo Recommends
Weโ€™ve read a lot of great books. Check out our archives and pick one of our recommendations off our book lists.

JULY- LOL
Hilarious memoirs, silly chick lit, comedic scifi. Pick a book that is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud.

AUGUST- Genre Jumble
Read from a genre that you donโ€™t normally read from

SEPTEMBER- Steampunk, Science Fiction, and Fantasy
Pretty self explanatory and loads of great books to pick from in this motif.

OCTOBER- Things That Go Bump in The Night
Cozy mystery ghost stories, paranormal creeptastic, murder mystery- itโ€™s up to you!

NOVEMBER- Fiction Takes A Break
Itโ€™s all about Nonfiction November this month!

DEC- Thatโ€™s a Wrap
Finish a series youโ€™ve been meaning to finish or read the next book in a series you started but never finished.

So, guys wish me luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

What are the things you have challenged yourself for 2016? Did you make any new resolutions? How is 2016 treating you so far? Do share in the comments section below! ๐Ÿ™‚

37 comments

  1. Good luck on your reading challenge! Personally, I feel as if I haven’t done enough justice to books, either since the past couple years; but, I did happen to devote enough time to read a few really good ones from my to-read list in 2015. Hopefully, this year will be better! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year!

  2. All the best with the challenge…
    i keep telling myself i need to start finding time to start reading books especially the ones resting in my loft …

      1. I use Goodreads very sporadically :-/
        I should put in an effort to use it for tracking my books

      2. is it? why don’t you add the Goodreads widget in your blog sidebar? Also you can sign up for the Goodreads Reading Challenge; I think it can help you to keep a track of the books you read over the years. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. For me 2015 was quite eventful! On reading, kind of same happened to me too! ๐Ÿ˜› Have the same goal too.
    The other challenge seems interesting, thinking to join it too! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I too have decided to be more serious about my reading. Last year I succumbed to the lure of the smart phone and my reading suffered a lot. But this year I have made up my mind to continue my love story with books ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Already finished one and now am reading one of my fav authors, Jodi Picoult. So it’s a happy me right now. I’m sure we’ll rock 2016 Madhu ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜Š

    1. I hear you Anjana, smartphones can be real time-wasters. For me, I have started to cut down on review copy of books and concentrate on reading the ones I have in my too-read list. At the end of the year, the number may be less, but I am sure I will be happy that I read some good books ๐Ÿ™‚
      Happy reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks dear! ๐Ÿ™‚
      And yes it is interesting indeed and that’s why I decided to join in….maybe I will read a few books outside my preferred choice of genres ๐Ÿ™‚

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

