What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding – my thoughts

IMG_3061Author – Kristin Newman

Blurb (from Goodreads) –

Kristin Newman spent much of her twenties and thirties buying dresses for friends’ weddings and baby showers. To escape her fast-paced job as a sitcom writer, Kristin travelled the world, often alone, several weeks yearly. She fell in love with the planet and attractive locals – connection without commitment. Israeli bartenders, Finnish poker players, sexy Bedouins, and Argentinean priests help transform her into “Kristin-Adjacent” on the road – a slower, softer, and, yes, sluttier version of herself at home.

My thoughts –

As a part of the 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge, I picked up this book for the month of July, for which the motif was – LOL: Hilarious memoirs, silly chick lit, comedic sci-fi. Pick a book that is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud. The book was in my TBR for quite a long time. The title of the book was what attracted me to it and when my friend gifted this one last month, I was super-duper happy! 🙂 😀

Anyways, before starting with my thoughts, I am sharing here what the author has to say about her book –

I hope you enjoy! By the way, if you are expecting Eat/Pray/Love, you will NOT enjoy. I’m a comedy writer, and I wrote this to entertain, not to educate. I did not want to publish my diary. Because, let’s be honest, I’m not important enough to do that. I promise if you come to this book expecting some sort of philosophical breakthrough or guide to living, you will be disappointed. If you come to laugh, you will be happy. Other people who will not like this book: people who are not neurotic, people who learn lessons quickly the first time, people who feel being married is the true sign of emotional maturity, people who value emotional maturity, people who have their wedding kiss as their goodreads photo. (Source: Goodreads)

And yes, the book is exactly what she has said it is. I love travelling and have made a resolve to visit a new place every year, wherever and whichever corner of the earth it may be. And this is why I love picking up books under this genre & read about someone else’s travelling experiences & set out for some armchair travel, when I cannot manage those leaves from work or when I am saving for that next trip. 🙂 This book fell under this category and also the fact that the author was in that chapter of her life when all her friends are either getting married or producing babies, I felt, this one is for me! And I must say, I had quite a hilarious and eventful journey through this book. 🙂

The takeaways from the book for me would be as below –

  1. Do the thing you are supposed to do in the place you are supposed to do it.

  2. Travel in the mid-category; the cheapest ones are filled with backpackers and the most expensive ones are filled with super-rich people (older couples). Mid-category (mid-priced, slightly comfortable but not super fancy sphere) is where you meet your kind of people and have some fun – totally agree!

  3. The people you travel with can make or mar the experience of a good trip; so choose travel partners whose travel goals are similar to your own.

To say I loved every bit of the book would be a lie since most of her journeys revolved around men and this is one part which I could not relate to at all. Also, she being a comic writer, I expected the book to be hilarious one which sadly was only in parts. However, the description of the emotions and experiences when she witnesses a new something in a new place makes me nod my head and say, I get you! 🙂 Also the candidness, wildness & the honest ‘confessions’ make the book real (like listening to the stories of a wild & free friend), if not likeable by all.

Though the author claims it to be not at all a preachy book, there is indeed many life-lessons to learn from those pages of her experiences….it might not be plenty & too obvious, but if one observes there are definitely many! 🙂

Some interesting quotes from the book

“When you travel, you’re forced to have new thoughts, “Is this alley safe?” “Is this the right bus?” “Was this meat ever a house pet?” It doesn’t even matter what the new thoughts are, it feels so good to just have some variety. And it’s a reboot for your brain. I can feel the neurons making new connections again with new problems to solve, clawing their way back to their nimbler, younger days.”

“I love that I am but one of millions of single girls hitting the road by themselves these days. A hateful little ex-boyfriend once said that a houseful of cats used to be the sign of a terminally single woman, but not it’s a house full of souvenirs acquired on foreign adventures. He said it derogatorily: Look at all of this tragic overcompensating in the form of tribal masks and rain sticks. But I say that plane tickets replacing cats might be the best evidence of women’s progress as a gender. I’m damn proud of us. Also, since I have both a cat and a lot of foreign souvenirs, I broke up with that dude and went on a really great trip.”

Final Words –

An ‘honest’ book where the author shares some incredible travel experiences spread all over the world and makes some candid reflections too…an enjoyable read for sure! 🙂

Note –

This review is linked to my 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge for the month of July & also Goodreads Reading Challenge, 2016.

13 comments

    1. oh is it? Am I not clear here? I loved the book in spite of those few minor downs for me (which I think are my personal preferences)
      However, I have to say that, the title of the book had me expecting a mind-blowing read which sadly it was not. 🙂

      1. Yes mam.. here I go. . I was going to say great review.. 😀😀😀

        I don’t remeber now.. but I have re followed you.. Let’s see now…

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

