Six Degrees – my thoughts

six degreesPic Source: Goodreads

Author/Publisher: Blogadda.com

Blurb:

As part of their #CelebrateBlogging initiative, BlogAdda.com ran the first edition of Game of Blogs in September 2014. Five characters and their descriptions were provided. The objective was to write a fictional story revolving around these characters. Bloggers came together as teams and after three rounds filled with its own set of twists and turns, three stories made it to the end.
The three stories in this book are a fascinating example of how one set of characters can have interesting lives with completely different dimensions. Six Degrees is a result of how collaboration can truly breed creativity in the modern day world of connected living.

My Thoughts:

This book is an interesting take on how different writers can carve out different stories with their creativity when given a fixed set of characters & backdrop. After reading Natasha’s review on Six Degrees, I decided to opt for a copy of the book from Blogadda.

There were three teams, each consisting of a set of 8-9 bloggers and each of the 3 teams came up with three completely different stories on the given guidelines –

  • Story is based in Mumbai
  • A set of 5 characters – Shekhar Dutta (a stay at homehusband/father and an unsuccessful/out of work writer), his wife Tara Dutta (a successful professional), Roohi Dutta (the couple’s daughter), Cyrus Daruwala (a lwayer from Delhi who comes to Mumbai and gets into the lives of the Dutta’s with a motive), Jennifer (a beautiful Malayali photographer who also gets entangles in the story of the Dutta’s) and finally Aryan Ahuja (neighbour of the Dutta’s)
  • A quote – “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”

The three stories that finally came out of this wonderful collaborative effort were –

  1. The Awakening- Team By Lines
  2. Entangled Lives- Team Potliwale Baba
  3. Missing- A Journey Within- Team Tete-A-Ten

And if I have to rank the stories in order of my liking it would be as the above order.

The Awakening is a story with a very strong message that gets conveyed quite aptly and with all the aliens and the sci-fi twist, I liked it the best. The control on the characters, the story and the premise on which it is based on, shows that the writers of this one has put in a lot of efforts in terms of research, creativity, editing and finishing touches. A job well done by Team By Lines!  🙂

Entangled Lives was a murder mystery which I at first thought was an interesting take on the challenge but then with too many pages down repeating the running round & round, I felt entangled & confused which I felt could have been avoided. Keeping it short & crisp would have delivered that right impact which the story had the potential of. But nevertheless a good piece of who-dunnit by Team Potliwale Baba! 🙂

The last story, Missing, was the most average one out of the three. I felt the writers wanted to say too many things at the same time and their thoughts could not be brought together properly as one story. With many a loose ends and unutilised angles which could have elevated the story, this one is my least preferred one.

Final words: An interesting collaborative effort by the 3 teams, weaving out 3 different genre of stories with a common set of characters & backdrop in a single book. I had opted for this book only on the basis of the premise of the book and was quite satisfied with the overall reading experience.

Note:

  • The book was sent to me by Blogadda & the opinions expressed here are my own and unbiased.
  • This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!
  • This review is linked to my Goodreads Reading Challenge, 2016.
9 comments

  1. It sounds like an interesting concept. I checked on Amazon. Their price is $9.99 for a kindle version. That’s way too much. I’ll wait until the price goes down.

      1. Awww, thanks. I’ve added it to my Amazon wish list, so I’ll just wait until the price is right or see if our library has a copy. Hugs.

      2. Aww. Thanks so much, but please don’t do that. We are moving soon, and I don’t know yet where we will be before the new house is done. You are the sweetest and I truly appreciate the offer to send the book.

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

