The Time Traveler’s Wife – my thoughts

Time Traveller's wife

Author – Audrey Niffenegger

Blurb from Goodreads

Clare, a beautiful art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, have known each other since Clare was 6 and Henry was 36, married when Clare 23 and Henry 31. Impossible but true. Because Henry unintentionally jumps in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity, past and future. His experiences can be harrowing or amusing.

My thoughts:

This is one book which had been in my TBR for quite a long time. I was gifted a paperback way back in 2014 but somehow it got pushed behind every time. But then as I always say, better late than never. 🙂

And finally when I was done reading it, I realised that I am in love with it – its definitely going to be one of  my all-time favourites and also one of my best books in 2016. And as I had already shared in one of my previous posts, I am also suffering from a terrible hangover from this one. I finished it some days back but till now I have not been able to pick up another book….sigh! :/

tumblr_inline_n28c8wazpd1r59llp

I was quite slow with it in the beginning because it took me time to get into the groove of the book but once I did, I went slower, grasping every detail and living the love, pain and anguish of both Henry & Clare. Slowly but steadily the story grew on me and I was hooked to it, so much that I did not want it to end….I cried, I laughed and I felt love.

Henry suffered from a rare genetic condition where his genetic clock resets time to time and as a result of which he found himself travelling in time – both past and future. I felt for Henry who could never live his life in a chronological order like normal people and all the more for Clare who had to suffer along and waiting was all she could do. But their love was unconditional and survived all odds and grew stronger each passing day helping them to fight the struggles & woes of Henry’s time travel and their quest to lead normal lives as much as they could. I could only imagine how difficult it must have been to carry on life as usual when you know what is going to happen in the future, especially the bad & unpleasant events, & not being able to do anything about it. The other characters in the story were like the chocolate chips in a cookie, making it more delectable & nice. 🙂

This might not be a perfect book but it made me feel & think about things like relationships, destiny, fate, personal choices & lots more. And kudos to the author who could make me believe in a rare possibility called time travel. 🙂

tumblr_inline_mquw0yWllE1qz4rgp

Some quotes from the book I loved –

Don’t you think it’s better to be extremely happy for a short while, even if you lose it, than to be just okay for your whole life?”

“It’s hard being left behind. (…) It’s hard to be the one who stays.”

“Time is priceless, but it’s Free. You can’t own it, you can use it. You can spend it. But you can’t keep it. Once you’ve lost it you can never get it back.”

“He vanishes unwillingly, without warning. I wait for him. Each moment that I wait feels like a year, an eternity. Each moment is as slow and transparent as glass. Through each moment I can see infinite moments lined up, waiting. Why has he gone where I cannot follow?”

“There is only one page left to write on. I will fill it with words of only one syllable. I love. I have loved. I will love.”

“Clare, I want to tell you, again, I love you. Our love has been the thread through the labyrinth, the net under the high-wire walker, the only real thing in this strange life of mine that I could ever trust. Tonight I feel that my love for you has more density in this world than I do, myself: as though it could linger on after me and surround you, keep you, hold you.”

Final Words:

Read it to experience some true & pure love flourishing in some very testing situations, over a period of time…it will reaffirm your belief in true love for sure! 🙂

gif-the-mindy-project

Note:

This review is linked to my 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge & Goodreads Reading Challenge, 2016.

 

14 comments

  1. One of my all-time favorites too 🙂 . I didn’t like it so much the first time I read it, but on the reread I was just blown away!

    1. is it? That’s strange na; maybe when you look at it too objectively its not at all believable and has many points of disagreements but then if you go with the flow the author had created, its a beautiful journey 🙂

  2. Oh! How I loved this book!
    It’s been on my “to-buy” list for quite some time now. I want it for my collection. Then, I can read it whenever I want 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

