Grass is always greener on the other side…..

grassisgreenerSource: Pinterest

I am in my late twenties & unmarried. I have a 9 to 5 job to take care of my bills & even lend a helping hand to my parents every now & then. Owing to my financial independence & understanding & supportive parents, I am living a life of my own choices. I travel to far & near places whenever I can gather up the resources; I wear & eat whatever I feel like, etcetera. In short I am living life on my own terms……at least till now.

Very often my friends or acquaintances say that I am lucky to live a life like this. Yes, I am loving every bit of my present life but then I have had done my share of hard work to reach here. Also, it is not that I don’t have to deal with the twists & turns that life throws my way every now & then. The constant question of when & to whom am I getting married because all my friends are already happily married off & some of them have even delivered their babies! Then there is the fluctuating bank balances because of the trips I take and the shopping I do for my retail therapy. Not to mention the exhaustion & stress my bread earning source provides me with. And there are so many more……. So you see, my life is not a bed of roses either!

shooting star picThey live in paradise (Seychelles), but their lives are not a bed of roses either. (Source : The Shooting Star)

The point I am trying to make here is that no body’s life is perfect – in fact I am of the opinion that it can never be. But the key to happiness inspite of all the odds is to be grateful for whatever one has & try to be happy with all the lil’ joys life presents us with. Every one of us has a unique life with our own set of highs & lows, so there is no point in comparing our life with that of another. It will make us unhappier & less grateful for the good things in our own lives. Even science says that positive emotions & thinking leads to good health – inside as well as outside.

So friends let us appreciate & be thankful for what we have in your own hands & stop looking at the package in our friend’s hands! Also let us celebrate the lil’ things in our own lives, smile more, praise others whenever we get the opportunity & slow down sometimes to savour the moments, like they say “take time to smell the roses”! 🙂

Life does not have to be perfect to be wonderful! ~ Annette Funicello

14 comments

  1. What a wonderful post! You are so right about no one’s life if perfect, but it is definitely what you choose to make of it. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Love the post. We are all fighting a battle and we have our fair share of struggle in life. Let’s appreciate what we have, dare to dream and go on an adventurous spree that makes our hearts happy:)

  3. Yes! Madhusmita I totally love this post. I love the way you think and would have to agree that you are living a full and balanced beautiful life. You ooze gratitude. And still you see the work and effort that go into making such a rich life as part of that necessary recipe. Yes, the occasional sunken souffle happens, but it’s still delicious and worthy of making.
    Wonderful words. Perfect sentiments!
    🙂

    1. thank you for the kind words Shelley ! 🙂
      I simply opt for gratitude & appreciation over complaining….after all if I have to compare at all aren’t I living a much better life than some lesser privileged ones 🙂

  4. I confess I am secretly jealous when I come to office on Mondays and hear the stories of the single and fancy free. Your post is a welcome reminder to be thankful for all the good things in my life as well 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........