Entry to Pondy….

WP_20150717_005

#Pondicherry Diaries – Part 1

2015 has been a not-much-travel year for me. Apart from a quick trip to here & there nearby, I was somehow not able to manage a proper break, away from the fast-pace and tiring life around me. And this was why, I was longing for a proper holiday. Lazy, peaceful and some good food – this was the kind of break I was interested in. So when I read the tagline (GIVE TIME A BREAK) and the following in the Official Website of Department of Tourism, Government of Puducherry, I knew where I had to go. 🙂

“If peace and a break is the most sought after, then Pondicherry is surely one of the choicest holiday destinations in South India. The town offers a unique experience with its mix of modern heritage and spiritual culture. With a predominantly historical background, Pondicherry takes one century back in time.”

Soon, plans started rolling and me and my 2 girlfriends zeroed down on the dates first and then the accommodation in Pondicherry ( I prefer this over Puducherry, don’t know why). In order to accommodate the leaves from our respective offices, we had to be satisfied with a 4-day plan only. But in the end only 2 of us could finally make the trip happen; nevertheless we had a good time in our short trip to Pondy. 🙂

I plan to share my experience in Pondicherry in a series of posts. Today, I am sharing one of the things that piqued my interest during my short stay there – the doors, mainly in the French part of the town, where we stayed during our trip. Unlike all other Indian buildings, the ones in French quarters of Pondy, rarely had iron gates. The main entrance most of the times had big wooden doors. These doors with the distinct patterns, colours, etc. with the strong influence of French architecture, were quite fascinating to me; so much that I could not stop clicking pics of them. Many a times, I even had a strong desire to open each one of them and find out what lays beyond them. 😉 🙂

And I am sure, looking at the pictures below, you all will be fascinated by the Pondy Doors too….so enjoy! 🙂

WP_20150718_026 WP_20150717_071 WP_20150717_069 WP_20150717_067 WP_20150717_065 WP_20150717_054 WP_20150717_055 WP_20150717_059 WP_20150717_063 WP_20150717_064 WP_20150716_017 IMG_1947 IMG_1946 IMG_1930 IMG_1929 DSCN0227 DSCN0228 IMG_1926 IMG_1927 IMG_1928 DSCN0063 WP_20150718_027 And finally, its moi, posing in front of them! 😀DSCN0071 DSCN0187

20 comments

  1. The city is indeed calm. I loved it too. In just one day stay in the city, I too observed the influence of French architecture.
    P.S. great clicks!

  2. Glad you were able to get away for a break. Time to relax and wind down are so important to our health, not to forget how much fun it is to get away. The doors are beautiful! So interesting, that there can be so many different types of doors. I do wonder what is behind them. Hugs, my dear friend.

  3. I love Pondicherry too 🙂 We went there for our 2nd wedding anniversary – we could only spend two days over there but it surely was quite enjoyable. It has everything to offer – at one end you would see the Indian part and at the other end, the French part. I love the beach and the long walks that one can take 🙂 Wish to go there leisurely one more time 🙂 You had come all the way to Pondy, did you get a chance to visit Chennai?!

    You are looking absolutely gorgeous! ❤

    1. Even I felt my trip was too short because my travelling time was quite high. And that’s why I too, plan to go back soon 🙂
      As for Chennai, we just checked in & out of the airport 😛
      thanks for the compliments 🙂

  4. I live in Chennai, but haven’t visited Pondicherry yet, and just looking at these doors makes me want to! And so true, Pondicherry sounds way better than Pudhucherry.

Would love to hear your thoughts.........