Books & wine

books-wineImage Source- Google

“Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.” 
~
John Keats

Books & wine are often touted as a perfect combo. As for me I don’t mind a cup of coffee too. But most of the times, if I get engrossed in a book, getting lost in the lives of the characters, I seldom remember to eat or take a sip or two…..yeah, that’s me. 😛

A few days back, I came across an interesting article in a website – Gone Reading, where, as a part of their Book Club Tips, they had come with an info-graphic for pairing a particular kind of wine with a particular book.

For instance:-

–          Champagne with The Great Gatsby – The celebratory feeling while drinking champagne will immerse you into the life of the many extravagant parties thrown by Jay Gatsby.

–          Port with Pride & Prejudice – Curl up with a glass of port & a copy of Pride & Prejudice & begin to unravel the sweet taste of revenge.

–          Chardonnay with The Shining – Drinking Chardonnay while reading The Shining will bring you a fresh, sweet sense of the world with a bitter taste.

–          Cabernet Sauvignon with Fifty Shades of Grey – Cabernet is full of rich, earthy flavours, including tobacco, making it an extremely sexy masculine wine.Experience Christian Grey in wine form with some Cab.

…any a few more. There is also a general pairing of Red & White wine genre-wise. Check out the info-graphic below –

Book_and_Wine_Pairings_Infographic_Resized

Source

<

p style=”text-align:center;”>Isn’t this an interesting take on books & wine? Do you have any specific book-wine (any other food/drink) pairing of your own? Do share your thoughts.

You can read the original article here – http://gonereading.com/2013/11/14/book-club-tips-wine-book-pairings/

6 comments

  1. Sounds interesting. I like how they have paired the books up. For me though, any kind of wine will do, I am not picky 🙂

  2. I love a glass of wine, but it makes me sleepy so wine and books wouldn’t work for me. Besides, when I start reading I forget all about whatever I have in my cup or glass.

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

