WWW Wednesday (10/07/2013) – Vol. 4

www_wednesdays43

 (click on the pic above to reach MizB)

Hello everyone! This weekly book meme is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. To play along, we just have to answer the following three (3) questions… • What are you currently reading? • What did you recently finish reading? • What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading “The Palace of Illusions” by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni I was gifted this book by a friend on my birthday last month. I fell in love with cover of the book. It has glitters on the cover page giving it a maharaja-time feel. I have started the book recently, & I like what I have read so far. The epic Mahabharata told from the view point of a woman, Panchali, looks fascinating to me. The cover & blurb of the book is given below:

1774836

A re-imagining of the world-famous Indian epic, the Mahabharat—told from the point of view of an amazing woman. Relevant to today’s war-torn world, The Palace of Illusions takes us back to a time that is half history, half myth, and wholly magical. Narrated by Panchaali, the wife of the legendary Pandavas brothers in the Mahabharat, the novel gives us a new interpretation of this ancient tale.  The novel traces the princess Panchaali’s life, beginning with her birth in fire and following her spirited balancing act as a woman with five husbands who have been cheated out of their father’s kingdom. Panchaali is swept into their quest to reclaim their birthright, remaining at their side through years of exile and a terrible civil war involving all the important kings of India. Meanwhile, we never lose sight of her strategic duels with her mother-in-law, her complicated friendship with the enigmatic Krishna, or her secret attraction to the mysterious man who is her husbands’ most dangerous enemy. Panchaali is a fiery female redefining for us a world of warriors, gods, and the ever-manipulating hands of fate.

I recently finished reading “The Homing Pigeons” by Sid Bahri. In this book, the author uses the voices of the 2 protagonists to tell the story, giving us two perspective of the same story. The version of both the genders, with their individual psychology, makes them believable. The end of the story was evident but the journey which Sid Bahri takes us through the lives of Aditya & Radhika amidst the various emotions was worth taking. I recommend this book to all those who believe & have faith in love. The detail review here.

The Homing Pigeons Cover ok

Regarding the book I will read next, I have two more books that I received as my birthday presents – The Legend of Amrapali by Anurag Anand & Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Spark. Also I have heard good reviews about two new books which I plan to buy next monthThe House with a Thousand Stories by Aruni Kashyap (plot based on my home state, Assam) & Teatime for the Firefly by Shona Patel. So time will tell which one I feel picking up for my next read. 🙂

newWWW

WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW Wednesday posts or your comments (if you don’t have a blog), so that I can check out what you’re reading. Till then, happy reading! 🙂

Images: Goodreads

24 comments

  1. The cover of the first book, Palace of Illusions, is so beautiful. I’ve never been to India but its on our bucket list of places to visit!

  2. I’ve not heard of any of these books, but they sound really good! And I love the cover art! I might have to add The Palace of Illusions and The Homing Pigeons to my TBR list!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

    1. oh! i am getting mixed reviews on “Message in a Bottle”. i guess i will have to read it soon to find out for myself. 🙂
      Thanks for making a return visit to my blog. 🙂

  3. i like the book cover of Palace of Illusions, I hope to read it soon too.

    I highly recommend reading A Message in a Bottl, but be sure to prepare a handkerchief to stop the flow of happy tears when yo do get a chance to read it 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

