A Sip of Kashmir!

InstagramCapture_b27dbdbc-687f-4379-b28c-e7ba838727a2_jpg Kahwa being brewed in this beautiful & exotic looking Samovar

For the first time, the regional SARAS FAIR is being currently organized in Assam. And last Sunday I decided to pay a visit to the venue at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakhetra (Gate No.2). As per information available in the public domain 154 stalls of Self-Help Groups (SHGs) & private farms from 25 different states of the country are taking part in the fair with their ethnic products like food, clothes, ornaments, handicrafts, etc.

What I was most interested in was checking out the stalls of the people coming from outside the northeast. And this is why I ended up buying terracotta pots from a seller from Haryana, a wooden corner table from the Uttar Pradesh stall (this one had very exquisite handcrafted wooden furniture), a cotton bedcover from a Bihar stall and a crochet tablecloth (from which state I do not remember now…oops!).

Apart from the shopping, the highlight of my visit was my first time experience of a cup of Kahwa from the Jammu & Kashmir stall. The stall has been set up by Chenir SHG of Jammu & Kashmir. Mr. Ahmed who was at the counter was nice enough to patiently answer to my queries and shared some information about the drink. Here is what I came to know about it –

Kahwa is a traditional drink of Kashmir and is made by boiling green tea leaves along with saffron, cinnamon and cardamom. The liquid infused with the aromatic spices is then put in a special vessel called “samovar”. It consists of a central cavity/tube kind of thing in the centre into which hot pieces of coals are placed. Around this central cavity is a space for the water to boil. The hot liquor is then served with sugar/honey and crushed almonds or walnuts. There are many variations to it but this is the most common way to enjoy Kahwa.

And by the time Mr. Ahmed was done explaining to me, my cuppa of Kahwa was ready for me to enjoy with the goodness of the rich ingredients and the sweet aroma rising up to my nostrils. My first sip of Kashmir was indeed a delightful one. 🙂 And now it wants me to make that (planning-for-a-long-time-now) visit to the enchantingly beautiful hills & valleys of Jammu & Kashmir soon…..very soon!

Have you had been lucky enough to taste a cup of this exotic drink?

Mondaymusings-1 Linking this post to #MondayMusings

Some related links about Kahwa & Samovar –

https://www.apsense.com/article/all-you-wanted-to-know-about-kashmiri-kahwa.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samovar

16 comments

  1. Yes, I’ve had Kahwa made on a cold wintery evening in Delhi but we have a wonderfully old copper samovar in our home which reminds me of this wonderful drink

  2. How interesting! 😀
    It sounds quite delicious… There is something very soothing about a cup of tea 🙂

  3. It sounds like you walked away with some lovely purchases. I have never heard of Kashmir, but it sounds delicious, and with your description, I can almost smell the wonderful aroma of green tea and spices with the honey and ground nuts.

    1. Kashmir is paradise on earth; I think you should google up about it and you will be blown away by its beauty 🙂
      And yes, the Kahwa was a very flavoursome & aromatic drink 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

