Photo Friday (24) – Season’s Greetings!

WP_20151231_003 A few of this year’s cards 🙂

Call me old school, but I still am a greeting-card person. A handwritten letter or a greeting card from my dear ones never fail to cheer me up, even on the darkest days. For me its also a piece of memory – which you can touch and feel and revisit the emotions attached with it, unlike the e-cards.

Back home, I still have a boxful of greeting cards I received from my friends in school and each time I open and read the message in them, I break into a smile and sometimes a loud laugh too! Its like a joyful journey down the memory lane. 🙂 Till date, every year I make it a point to visit the shops for getting a few cards for the ones who,like me, value this piece of my emotions for them.

In today’s age of Facebook, Twitter and what not, I still feel that a greeting card is much more personal and the receiver also feels much more special. Sadly, over the years, the number of people to whom I can send cards is becoming lesser and I have fewer cards to send. This is when I reminisce about the by-gone days, when I had so many friends to gift a card and very limited pocket-money. And to save a penny, I even handmade some cards. 🙂 But today, when I have the resources to buy the cards in dozens, I do not have enough people to send them to….sigh! :/

Anyways, this year too I got Helpage India and UNICEF new year cards for my special people and the feedback from the receiver’s has been good. 🙂 So its a happy me! 🙂

20 comments

  1. It’s a beautiful habit to send physical greeting cards. i have always loved sending & receiving them.
    Couldn’t agree more that how much it hurts to see the number of people to send these to is dwindling by every year.
    Great selection there 😀

  2. Oh yes, I miss the days when we would select the cards thoughtfully for Diwali and New Year and send to our family and friends. And how we used to decorate the ones we received in our rooms. There’s something so charming about getting a hand written card. As I am typing this, I have decided that I am going to re-start that tradition and will send cards this year. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    1. oh yes, I forgot about the decoration part; as kids we would stitch them up and hang to show off how many each of us received 🙂 😛
      And yes, go ahead and spread some love with some greeting cards 🙂

  3. It is a beautiful feeling when the postman drops a handwritten letter or a card.. I do get a few now and then .. With the age of emails whatsapp we are losing it all..

    Lovely selection…

  4. This reminds me of how I used to spend my pocket money (which was scarce) on buying physical greeting cards for my school friends during Diwali, and religiously send them out every year. I would take pains choosing just the right ones, and would even make some myself, to save on money. 😛 Though they weren’t very expensive, they were special, and they made the receiver feel special too. I would collect the cards I received, too. Over time, though, I stopped using physical cards and stopped getting them too. I stopped collecting them, too. 😦

    I remember I used to love the cards from UNICEF too. They were so pretty!

    Your post inspires me to start writing letters and cards all over again. 🙂

    1. I am always amazed to find that no matter where we are from, we all seem to have many common things in our childhood. 🙂
      And yes, go ahead and write a letter or send a card soon….the happiness in doing so is incomparable! 🙂

  5. So many people are no longer sending out cards, whether because of the cost of cards, cost of postage, or the time it takes to write and post them, I’m not sure. I love sending and receiving cards, so this is one practice I hope to continue indefinitely.

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

