Rooted in Joy (Part IV)

rooted in joyPic Source: Google Images

The glory of gardening – hands in the dirt, head in the sun, heart with nature. To nurture a garden is to feed – not just the body, but the soul! ~ Alfred Austin

As I have already shared in my previous posts over the years – Part I, Part II & Part III and one more post, I have slowly and steadily treaded into the world of gardening with my potted plants in the balcony. At present, I have a balcony full of pots with varied plants including a veggie patch too. 🙂

Last year was the first time I tried my hands on cultivating a veggie patch and the happiness it brought me and not to mention the satisfaction because of the successful attempt, I tried it again this year. I did not do french beans this time and mainly concentrated on coriander & spinach.

Today I want to share how I went about it – I soaked a handful of coriander & spinach seeds overnight in a glass bowl. Next morning I sowed the swollen seeds (osmosis effect 😉 ) in the soil which had already been mixed with dried and powdered cow dung (available in packets in the market) and then watered them every day. In a week, the seeds sprouted and out cane some tiny plants. And soon, in another week I had a luscious patch of coriander with a few spinach plants in between.

Here is a phase-wise glimpse of this year’s crop (if I may call it so)-

WP_20151116_001WP_20151202_003WP_20151202_002WP_20151224_001

Do any of you indulge in gardening of any kind? Do share tips if you have any. 🙂

18 comments

  1. Wow! Well done D&C 🙂
    I have been wishing to have my own herbs’ patch just that in the small town where I live, I haven’t found the seeds yet. But someday, I shall fulfill that wish just like you 😀

    1. why dont you check online for seeds and other gardening stuff….Amazon has many things starting from cocopeat and what not…….go ahead and start that herbs’ patch soon! 🙂

  2. Wow! That’s beautiful! I want to learn to garden too… But that wil have to wait till we move to a place with either a balcony or a yard 😀

  3. I can imagine the joy of growing your own veggies. We have our farm and everything that comes out of it is cherished so much by us. Love the fresh look of the coriander. Way to go, M!

  4. Oh yessss.. I do my rest days are spent in the garden but sadly it’s winters now and too cold so can’t do much.. but come spring.. It will all start again.. and I usually grow tomatoes.. chillies.. coriander and radishes. .

    I love gardening. .and that is a very very healthy crop ..

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

