Photo Friday (12) – Gamusa

WP_20150412_012 Gamusa

This Bohag Bihu holidays, I had taken my new car to my hometown for the 1st time. On my way, I made a stop at our ancestral place in Sivasagar, Assam. My car is actually quite a few months old now but since it was its first visit, it was welcomed like a new one. 😉 My aunt rushed to welcome my car in our traditional way, by placing a gamusa on the dashboard, pouring water from a pot on the four wheels and going around it with the incense sticks. The same was repeated by my parents when I finally reached home. 🙂

Know more about Gamusa here – http://onlinesivasagar.com/lifestyle/gamosa.html

4 comments

  1. You open up the world a bit more every time you share some of your cultural practices. The Gamusa seems to have various representations, but my favorite is presenting it to the elderly as a show of respect. You live in a country that is steeped in rich traditions, and I am thankful that you share them here. Hugs, my dear friend.

    1. I am glad you enjoy my posts on my culture. And yes, I do live in a country steeped in rich traditions and what I write about is only a fraction of it. 🙂 Hugs to you too Michelle! 😀

    1. yes it is! last year April when I was in Kerela, our driver for the tour explained to us the significance & rituals of Vishu. 🙂 That evening we got to watch the fireworks too, from our houseboat 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

