This Week in Books – Vol.1

lipsy-thisweekinbooksAfter MizB discontinued the weekly bookish meme, WWW Wednesdays, I was thinking of coming up with a weekly feature of my own to share about my books each week. And when I came across fellow blogger, Lipsy (from LIPSYY LOST &  FOUND), starting her own weekly feature THIS WEEK IN BOOKS, I decided to join in the fun. Thanks for hosting Lipsy! 🙂

And so here I go with my 1st post –

Currently reading

I am currently reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. This has been in my TBR for quite a long time and I am glad I finally picked it up. Here is the cover & blurb of the book (both taken from Goodreads)

me before you

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Finished reading

I finished reading Autobiography of a Mad Nation by Sriram Karri. A review copy of the book was sent to me by the publishers – Fingerprint Publishing. My thoughts on the book will be up this week. Here is the cover (self-clicked) & blurb (taken from Goodreads) of the book –

mad nation“I was born in a mentally retarded nation.” – Thus begins this provocative, stylish, and racy literary rant against India by a twenty-four-year-old awaiting capital punishment.

When Dr M Vidyasagar (‘Sagar’), retired chief of CBI, gets an unusual request from his old friend and the President of India to privately investigate if Vikrant Vaidya—sentenced to death for motivelessly killing his teenage neighbour Iqbal—is innocent or not, little does he know how convoluted a conspiracy he is setting foot in. 

With a narrative that springs forth from and weaves its way through the Emergency, anti-Sikh riots post Indira Gandhi’s assassination, Ram Janmabhoomi Rath Yatra, anti-Mandal Commission protests, economic liberalisation, Babri Masjid demolition, and Godhra riots, readers will find themselves in the grips of a chimerical tale, asking and answering the question: Is India truly a mad nation?

Next read

For my next read I have not yet decided anything as yet.

It feels nice to be back with a weekly round-up of my reading. Do share about your reading this week in the comments section below. 🙂

P.S. I got to know from Sam of TAKING ON A WORLD OF WORDS, that she has revived WWW Wednesdays, and so I am happily linking this post to her meme too. 🙂

12 comments

  1. My mother-in-law loves Moyes but I have yet to read anything by her. Do you like it?

    I didn’t know if you saw, but I revived WWW Wednesday on my blog. Lipsyy has linked up there to connect with more readers and I’d be honored if you did the same. Here’s this week’s post.

    1. This is the 1st time I will be reading Moyes, so lets see how I like her. 🙂
      Its nice to hear you revived WWW and I will definitely link up my post to your meme too 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

