WWW WEDNESDAY (Revived) VOL. 36

I am glad to announce that though the original host, MizB, of my favourite bookish meme, WWW Wednesdays, had discontinued it (I was very sad), Sam from Taking On A world of Words had taken up the task from MizB to continue this meme and host it in her blog. Yay!!! Just when I was thinking of coming up with something new in place of WWW, Sam came up with this revival plan. Isn’t it awesome? I am more than happy to join the fun again. 🙂

So here we go –

To play along this meme, we just have to answer the following three (3) questions…

*What are you currently reading?
*What did you recently finish reading?
*What do you think you’ll read next?

And here are my answers this week:

I am currently reading A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. It was supposed to be my Christmas read but for many a reasons (which I am not elaborating here) I am reading now. And I am hoping will finish it by today evening. Here is the cover & blurb of the book –

WP_20141230_004

One of the best-loved and most quoted stories of “the man who invented Christmas”—English writer Charles Dickens—A Christmas Carol debuted in 1843 and has touched millions of hearts since.

Cruel miser Ebeneezer Scrooge has never met a shilling he doesn’t like…and hardly a man he does. And he hates Christmas most of all. When Scrooge is visited by his old partner, Jacob Marley, and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come, he learns eternal lessons of charity, kindness, and goodwill. Experience a true Victorian Christmas!

I finished reading  Letters from an Indian Summer by Siddharth Dasgupta. It was a beautiful book – art, romance, travel all mixed into  one; and much more than what the blurb of the book says. I will post my review soon. here is the cover & blurb –

letters from indian summer

A love story between an Indian photographer and a French artist, Letters from an Indian Summer is suffused with a strong sense of serendipity and spiritually liberal doses of the things Arjun Bedi and Genevieve Casta hold dear in this world. The past, though, lurks constantly around every chosen corner. Will the secrets they harbour end up destroying them, or will the unspoken belief in their entwined cosmic paths be much too strong a force . . ?

Regarding the book I will read next, I have Split Second authored by my friend A. B. Chakraborty. He sent me an autographed copy and I am quite excited for this one! 🙂 here is the cover & blurb –

splitStuck in the tenterhooks of uncertainty, an emerging ad-man tries to use all the logic to figure what’s happening to him. He believes that he’s caused the death of his favourite movie actress in one of the two lives that he claims to be living. And watching all of this happen are a bunch of people from two schools of thought-Physics and Psychiatry. Set in the busy streets, rented flats and packed pubs of Bangalore and Mumbai, here’s a thriller that’s punctuated with unprecedented happenings, thoughtful words and intertwined twists-an exhibition of how things change in a split second.

WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books & blogs too. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW posts or your comments (if you don’t have a blog), so that I can check out what you’re reading. Till then, happy reading!

Images & blurb source: Goodreads

Related link – https://samannelizabeth.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/www-wednesday-21-january-2015-its-back/

10 comments

  1. Glad to have you back in the community! I hope you enjoy ‘A Christmas Carol,’ I don’t think I’ve ever read the book, only seen the multiple movies.

    1. oh! Don’t worry Pixie, even I am going very slow. January is supposed to be like that with all the parties and festivals & hangovers. We all will spring back soon! 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

