Looking back at 2014….a bookish journey

2014-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

This is supposed to be a year end post but I have decided it to make it my 1st post for the brand New Year 2015. It’s still January, and technically I can still wish you a Happy New Year! 😛 I am sure 2015 is treating everyone nicely. 🙂
Anyways, I came across the End of Year Book Survey 2014 in the blog of The Readdicts Book Blog and I, too, decided to jump in to be a part of this event. This survey is originally hosted by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page Turner. So,here we go – 

reading-stats-2014-1024x278

  1. Number of books read – 29 (yes, I am a slow reader and hence this number makes me happy 🙂 )
  2. Number of re-reads – 1 (Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White)
  3. Genre I read the most from – Romance/Thriller/Humour

best-YA-books-2014-1024x278

  1. Best Book I read in 2014- Bucketlist of a Traveloholic by Sarika Pandit (non-fiction) & To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (fiction).
  2. Book I was excited about & thought I was going to love more but didn’t – M for Misfit by Sarika Pandit
  3. Most surprising (in a good or bad way) book I read in 2014- Gone Girl by Gilian Flynn.
  4. Book I ‘pushed’ the most people to read (and they did) in 2014- Bucketlist of a Traveloholic. I didn’t exactly push people but I gifted it to many 😛
  5. Best series I started in 2014? Best sequel of 2014? Best series ender of 2014? – The Hunger Games #1 by Suzanne Collins.
  6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2014 – Dorothy Koomson
  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone – Bucketlist of a Traveloholic since I do not read much of non-fiction
  8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year – The Hunger Games #1
  9. Book you read in 2014 that you are most likely to re-read next year – Re-reading is a luxury for me, so time will tell if I can squeeze in any re-read 😛
  10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014 – The Flavors of Love 18300173
  11. Most memorable character of 2014 – Katniss form Hunger Games & Basama from Unbowed.
  12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014 – To Kill a Mocking Bird
  13. Most thought-provoking/life changing book of 2014 – UNBOWED by Lestine
  14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2014 to finally read – To Kill a Mocking Bird
  15. Favourite passage/quote from a book you read in 2014? – I loved these opening lines of Laburnum for my Head

“Stories live in every heart; some get told, many remains unheard – stories about individual experiences mad universal by imagination; stories that are jokes, and sometimes prayers; and those that are not always a figment of the mind but are, at times, confessions. Because stories live in every heart, some get told, like the ones on these pages…..”

  1. Shortest & longest Book you read in 2014? Shortest would be A Cupful of Aha & the longest one would be the Unbowed.
  2. Book that shocked you the most – It definitely has to be Unbowed for it opened my eyes to a world I had very little idea of. It was devastating to know what women all over the world have to go through just for being a woman.
  3. OTP (one true pairing) of the year – Hazel & Augustus from The Fault in our Stars
  4. Favorite Non – Romantic Relationship of the year – Brother-sister duo – Scout & Jem Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird.
  5. Favorite Book you read in 2014 from an author you’ve read previously – The Secret Wishlist (it isn’t a favourite actually but I liked it nevertheless)
  6. Best book you read in 2014 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else / peer pressure – The Fault in our Stars.
  7. Newest Fictional Crush from a book you read in 2014 – None
  8. Best 2014 debut you read – Bucketlist of a Traveloholic
  9. Best World-building/ most vivid setting you read this year – Unbowed
  10. Book that put a smile on your face / was the most fun to read – Inscrutable Americans
  11. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2014 – The Fault in Our Stars
  12. Hidden gem of 2014 – Sita’s Curse. A bold book written by a woman in a country where people discuss this issue only in hush tones, cheer to Sreemoyee!
  13. Book that crushed your soul – Unbowed
  14. Most unique book you read in 2014 – A cupful of Aha!
  15. Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)- Gone Girl

book-blogging-1024x278

  1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2014 – Mind-Tripping Books among many others.
  2. Favourite review you wrote in 2014 – There are two names for this one – Sita’s Curse & Bucketlist of a Traveloholic.
  3. Best discussion/non review post you had on your blog – It has to be this post – My Best Books.
  4. Best event you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.) – WWW Wednesdays, a bookish meme hosted by Should be Reading is what I enjoyed a lot and also discovered quite a number of good books and book blogs. Sadly, the host of the meme is discontinuing it from 2015.
  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014 – there is not a particular one, but whenever I discover a new & wonderful book in a fellow blogger’s post, which otherwise would not have come to my notice, I re-live the joy of blogging.
  6. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views) – Till date, I have never checked the statistics on my blog and have no plans to do it anytime soon.
  7. Post you wished got a little more love – I write for myself & because I enjoy it and never have made any effort to make people read what I write, so there is no expectations on any of my posts from my side at all.
  8. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.) – It has to be this e-store – GoneReading. As they say in their website – “GoneReading markets a unique collection of gifts for readers and book lovers – what we callbrilliant products for the reading lifestyle.  We don’t sell books.  Rather, we sell products that enhance your reading life”.
  9. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? Yes I completed the Goodreads Reading Challenge, 2014 & IQR Challenge, 2014.

looking-ahead-books-2015-1024x278

  1. One book you didn’t get to in 2014 but will be your no.1 priority in 2015 – the list is very long!
  2. Book you are most anticipating for 2015 (non-debut) – nothing in particular since my TBR is already too long, need to catch up with that first! 😛
  3. 2015 Debut you are most anticipating – same as above
  4. Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2015 – I would like to finish off The Hunger Games (yes, I know that the complete series is already out and I aim to finish reading the remaining two in 2015)
  5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2015 – Minimize my TBR list and also to read different genres and works of authors from across the globe.
  6. A 2015 release you’ve already read & recommend to everyone – Nothing as yet.

Note: Images used here are from The Perpetual Page Turner & Goodreads.

8 comments

  1. Gosh! You answered so many questions M 🙂 I would have pulled my hairs to think of the different books I read to answer these questions 🙂 I am going to pick a few books from your answers 🙂

    1. @GB: hahaha….I guess you now know why it was not a year end but a mid-year start post for me 😛 On a serious note, it was easy for the answers came to my mind immediately.
      And I would be so glad if you like any of the books I mentioned here. As a shortcut, you can pick the books which have been mentioned the maximum number of times 😉

  2. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favorites, so I was happy to see you gave it several mentions in your list, especially the most beautifully written.
    Happy New Year to you. Hope your’s is filled with health, happiness, and new adventures. Oh, and of course, I hope it is filled with lots of good books! 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

