Challenge completed!

GoodreadsChallenge2014

Like last year, this year too I had participated in the Goodreads Reading Challenge. Not being a very fast reader and always trying to steal time away from my routine activities for reading a page or two every day, I challenged myself to read 25 books in the 12 months of 2014. In 2013, I had opted for reading 15 books and ended reading up 21 books. So, in the current year I took up the challenge by 4 books, without being too ambitious. In the middle of the year my reading went down visibly but somehow I made a comeback. And I am glad to share here that I have successfully completed my Reading Challenge of 2014! As on date I have completed reading 25 books and the number is still moving up. 🙂 This year my books has been a mix of Indian and foreign writers, bestsellers and new ones, comedy to horror to short stories to anthology to thrillers to non-fiction to classics….and yes I am quite happy with the books I picked up this year! 🙂

Here is the list of books that helped me fulfill my challenge –

January, 2014

  1. The Secret Wish List by Preeti Shenoy

secretwishlist (Goodreads)

2. The Other Side by Faraaz Kazi & Vivek Banerjee

the other sideGoodreads

February, 2014

  1. Unbowed by Lestine

unbowed Goodreads

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn 

gone girl Goodreads

  1. Supertraits of Superstars by Priyanka Sinha Jha

supertraits Goodreads

March, 2014

  1. No Man’s Land by Nilesh Shrivastava 

no mans landGoodreads

  1. The Flavors of Love by Dorothy Koomson

18300173Goodreads

  1. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White 

wilburGoodreads

  1. A Cupful of Aha! By Anandaa

WP_20140329_004Goodreads

April, 2014

  1. Maya in Search of her Tantric Father by Vipin Behari Goyal

maya Goodreads

  1. Life is a Pack of 52 cards by Sumeet Jain

52cards Goodreads

May, 2014

  1. Potluck: A Literary Collection of the Critique Group (Various authors) 

potluck Goodreads

  1. Sita’s Curse: The Language of Desire by Sreemoyee Piu Kundu

sita's curse Goodreads

  1. The Milk of Female Kindness: An Anthology of Honest Motherhood (Various authors)

19442074 Goodreads

June, 2014

  1. Bucket List of a Traveloholic by Sarika Pandit

bucketlist Goodreads

  1. Painting with Fire by K.B. Jensen 

20878913 Goodreads

  1. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

11870085 Goodreads

July, 2014

  1. Daughter by Court Order by Ratna Vira 

22309891 Goodreads

  1. The Bluest Marble by Vipin Kumar

????????? Goodreads

August, 2014

Nil

September, 2014

  1. The Inscrutable Americans by Anurag Mathur

inscrutableamerGoodreads

October, 2014

  1. The Full Moon Bride by Shobhan Bantwal

fullmoonbride Goodreads

  1. To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

mocking birdGoodreads

November, 2014

  1. Laburnum For My Head by Temsula Ao

laburnum Goodreads

  1. How I braved Anu Aunty and Co-Founded a Million Dollar Company by Varun Agarwal

anu aunty Goodreads

  1. The Hunger Games (#1) by Suzanne Collins

hunger games Goodreads

……..and the reading progress continues……..

Have you read any of these books?

Are you a part of the Goodreads challenge? If yes, how many books are you reading and where do you stand at this point of time?

Do share in the comments section below! 🙂

19 comments

  1. Congratulations!! So delightful! I never take this challenge, don’t know why though. But I did take up a review challenge to review 52 books, 1 per week, but I’m nowhere close to that goal!

    1. 52 books! Now that’s quite a big number, especially because reviews take a lot of time; I can never see myself taking up a review challenge because the pressure gets on me. Anyways, best wishes on your challenge! 🙂

  2. I’ve read a few of the bestsellers you’ve been through (Gone Girl, The Fault in Our Stars, To Kill a Mockingbird, Hunger Games) but I haven’t heard of many of the others. Do you read ARCs?

    I challenged myself to 35 this year because I wanted to take on some longer titles and not feel any pressure to hit a certain number. I think I’m in the mid 50s now but it’s nice to be able to take my time with a book (or audiobook as the case may be) and really enjoy it rather than rushing through to hit a self-appointed target.

    Congratulations on finishing! What do you think your goal will be next year?

    1. I am glad we have read books in common to both of us 🙂 As for ARCs I hardly do it, I usually accept books for review which do not have a fixed timeline for posting the review, unless the premise of the book sounds very interesting to me. To read a book in a fixed time gets me under pressure which I do not like :/
      As for rushing through books as because I want to reach a target, I don’t do that. I read books for pleasure and pick them up as per my mood and so the target hardly matters. Goodreads for me is a place where I keep track of my reading and discover new books read by my friends. This challenge is just a way to keep track of how many books I read in a year 🙂
      As for the target for the next year, I will decide it at the end of the year adn it will not be very high maybe a few books more than 2014 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by Sam! 🙂

  3. You did read some awesome books this year! 🙂
    I have to keep a track and I’m thinking of making proper use of my Goodreads account!

    P.S – I’ve bookmarked the books I haven’t read 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

