Visiting Agartala….

I have been missing in action for quite some time now. Lots have been happening…..all at the same time. Today I am sharing about my week long trip to Agartala, the capital city of Tripura, a state in the North Eastern part of India, during the last part of July, 2014.

“When I travel, people say ‘Yet another place in this world’. But I see ‘Another world inside every place I go”

 ~ Anonymous

Here is what Wikipedia says about the city I visited –

 Agartala is the second largest city in North-east India after Guwahati. Agartala is a component of two words, namely Agar, a kind of oily valuable perfume tree + tala, a store house. Agar i.e., Agaru tree was plenty in this region i.e., entire Northeast.”

[You can read more about Agartala here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agartala and http://tripuratourism.gov.in/Agartala.htm ]

It was my 2nd visit to the city – both the times I had visited the city on official purpose. The first time was in 2010 and I was sent there for training along with two of my colleagues and this time on deputation as the Branch Manager for a week. I was quite surprised to see that the city has changed many folds over the years. There are more number of shops, eating joints, movie halls, etc. for people to hang out with friends and family and have a good time. It was such a welcome difference! Because I remember now that I 1st time we were in Agartala, there was nothing much to do after office hours; we were basically bored.

WP_20140714_004My home for a week (Hotel Rajdhani, Agartala)

However, one thing that still prevails and which I liked the most in the city is the rickshaw rides, especially in the evenings with the cool breeze in the air. Since I was on an official visit, I could not do anything much as I spent the whole day in the office. So, every evening after office, I asked for directions for places to visit from my office staff and hopped on a rickshaw to explore the city – whatever lil’ bit I could manage in that short time. The roads in the city were good and clean and the traffic was mild. Roaming around in the streets of an unknown land, all by myself, where no one knew me and I knew no one, was a very different experience. And I must say I absolutely loved it. Having managed 5 days and 6 nights all by myself gave me a sense of freedom and independence I had never felt before. 🙂

Apart from exploring, I indulged in some feasting of Bengali delicacies – mostly fish. Here are a few things I relished on during my trip:

fish delicaciesYummy fish delicacies 🙂

other food in agtOther stuffs that I indulged on during the trip 🙂

While roaming around in the streets one day after office, I saw people crowding in a small eating joint called Laxmi Fast Food. Soon I joined the crowd and ordered the hottest selling items there – an egg-chicken roll, a chicken samosa and a brownie and I am glad I did for the roll was one of the best I had ever had in my life. 🙂

WP_20140716_008

Laxmi Fast Food

WP_20140716_011

Apart from eating and exploring, I also managed some shopping in the city. Tripura is known for its bamboo and other handicraft items and I made it a point to visit a few handicraft stores. Here are a few pics to give you guys an idea about the stuff I am talking about –

WP_20140716_006

WP_20140716_004

WP_20140716_007Handcrafted lamp-shade……isn’t this simply wow?

WP_20140718_008

WP_20140718_009

WP_20140724_001

I bought this terracota Ganesha from the shop

I also bought handloom sarees for my mom and Batik print dress material for stiching kurtas once I am back home.

I also managed to visit the most famous tourist destination of the city – Ujjayanta Palace, also called the Tripura State museum. This is what Wikipedia has to say about the palace –

WP_20140718_0272014071822563420140719214424

“Ujjayanta Palace was originally built in 1862 by then king Ishan Chandra Manikya (1849-1862) and it was devastated by a massive quake in June 1897 then the Palace was built by Maharaja Radha Kishore Manikya during 1899–1901 at a cost of 10 lakh (1 million) rupees despite financial constraints.

You can read more here – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ujjayanta_Palace

Overall, the trip was a good one and the experience was memorable. Travelling alone to an unknown place definitely enriches one  in many ways. I look forward to many more such experiences 🙂

I leave you with the pics of my 1st trip to the city when we visited many tourist destinations:

1. Neer Mahal

IMG_3712

IMG_3750

IMG_3729

2. Matabari, Udaipur

IMG_3706

3. 14 Devta Bari Mandir

IMG_3692

4. The State Zoowhere we saw the Royal Bengal Tigers from quite close 

IMG_3773

16 comments

  1. I loved that royal room .. 🙂 looks great and thank you for sharing the pics with us ..

    and the pics with all those handicrafts ..

    seems like you had fun time 🙂

  2. I’ve wondered where you’ve been. Glad you had such a terrific time in the short time you had for sightseeing.
    This has been an amazingly busy summer for me, but more about that later. Thanks so much for sharing your trip as I’ve enjoyed reading all about it.
    ❤ 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

