WWW Wednesday Vol.26

www_wednesdays43

Hello book lovers!

It’s Wednesday and time for another episode of WWW, the weekly book meme hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. I am back after missing in action in the WWW scene for a few weeks now. And it feels good to be back! 🙂

To play along, we just have to answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

And here are my answers this week:

I am currently reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. What can I say that has not been said about this book? All I can say is ‘I am hooked’ and cannot wait to get back to reading after I reach home from office. 🙂 Here is the blurb of the book –

11870085Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

I recently finished reading  Bucket List of a Traveloholic by Sarika Pandit. The book was sent to me by the publishers – Fingerprint Publishing in exchange of an honest review. This book is definitely in my list of favorite books of 2014. You can read my review and an author interview here. And here is the blurb and cover of the book –

bucketlistWhile her B-School batch mates are busy scrambling for top jobs and grades, a restless Sarika dreams of putting on her running shoes and having all the pages of her passport stamped by the age of thirty. What follows is a frenzied quest of not just collecting stamps but ticking off items off her ever-expanding bucket list, from learning the local language in Spain to an alcohol trail through Greece from a tryst with Shakespeare and Jane Austen in the United Kingdom to an encounter with the Vampire in Romania from straddling the border of two countries in the Middle East to a road trip through Morocco to the Sahara, each experience bringing her a little closer to reaching that final destination on her passport. A journey of falling in love with globetrotting, this one promises to be one of the best roller-coaster reading experiences you will have this year.

I had also finished reading Painting with Fire by K. B. Jensen. I had won it in a Goodreads Giveaway sometime months back but during my shifting this book got misplaced and I forgot all about it. But recently I found it and finished reading it. My review of the book will be up soon. Here is the blurb and cover of the book – 

20878913Claudia Wilson never quite trusted her roommate, an artist named Tom. After finding a body buried in a snow bank outside her front door, her suspicions about his eccentric behavior only worsen.

Unemployed and obsessed with the murder, she starts questioning her neighbors. She realizes how little she knows about the people who live around her, including Tom.
Tempted by love but unable to trust a man with a past in light of the murder, Claudia does everything she can to find out about the killer. The results lead her to a startling discovery.
When art and violence collide, the results can be explosive.

Regarding the book I will read next, this time I know what it will be- Daughter by Court Order by Ratna Vira . It was sent to me by Fingerprint Publishing in exchange of an honest review. The premise of the book sounds really interesting and different to me and I look forward to reading it soon! Here is the blurb and cover of the book –

22309891A seemingly innocent remark over an innocuous cup of tea. Aranya discovers that her family has been fighting a decade-long legal battle over her grandfather’s expansive estate, all the while not only keeping her in the dark, but also keeping her very existence out of the court’s knowledge!

A cesspool of emotions, half-truths, betrayals, and the unspooling of long buried dirty family secrets threaten to overpower Aranya and disrupt what modicum of peace and balance she has in her life as a single mother of two children. At the centre of this storm is the one woman who, ever since the day Aranya was born, has had nothing but curses and abuses for her; who has deliberately kept her name out of the court; who has wished her dead for every day of her life; who refuses to now remember her birth. The woman who is her mother. Her own mother.
This is the story of a woman fighting against power, money, deceit, and treachery for her right to be recognised as a daughter. A daughter by court order . . .

WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books & blogs too. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW Wednesday posts or your comments (if you don’t have a blog), so that I can check out what you’re reading. Till then, happy reading!

Images: Goodreads

Related link – http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/

23 comments

  1. We are reading the same book, aren’t we 🙂 Thanks for recommending ‘Bucket list…’ Hopefully, I will be able to lay my hands on it soon. The book you plan to read, Daughter by Court Order, sounds fascinating and heart breaking, but I think I would love to read it. Let me see if I can get hold of it.

      1. I hope so too. Talking with 5 15-year-olds, two of whom love reading and told me how much school was changing (in a good way) how they read. But the third girl just wasn’t there, yet!

  2. I have The Fault in Our Stars in the stack (a.k.a. – mountain) of books on my desk, but haven’t gotten near it yet. I keep hearing great things about Bucket List of a Traveloholic. I am going to have to get my hands on it and add it to Mt. Everest here.

  3. ahhh.. The Fault in Our Stars… I haven’t seen the movie but I enjoyed the book. Hopefully the movie doesn’t disappoint..

    I think I like that Bucket List of a Traveholic… Would love to read that soon! Thanks for sharing yours 🙂

  4. I just finished ‘The Queen of the Tearling’ by Erika Johansen, the first of a trilogy. It is excellent and I can’t wait for the next one! Just started ‘The Beekeeper’s Daughter’ by Santa Montefiore, it’s too soon to say if I like/don’t like it. Next? Probably ‘The Good Girl’ by Mary Kubica which is a real unknown quantity. 🙂 SD

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

