Living today….

today-is-a-gift“Life is the thing that happens to you while you’re regretting the past and worrying about the future.” ~ Dylan Ozmore

On 9th of this month, I grew older by a year. And with 1 more year in my pocket, I realized that I have matured a lot over the years….even being not aware of it. Age and maturity seems to have silently crept up on me and said, SURPRISE!, here we are ….. :/ Over the past few months I have been thinking a lot of my life. Many things are happening around me and I seem to have no control on the way things are shaping up. I don’t want to crib on the happenings of my life but I want to put down my thoughts and realizations in this phase of my life. Destiny has always played an important part in my life and I have accepted gracefully all that life had offered me. I have also realised that what is in the past must be put behind us and also that I have no control over the future – what matter most is our present and how we live it. But then, does living in the present mean that we forget about the past or the future? Practically it is not possible to do so- for the past has lessons to teach us and the future has promises & hope for us. But then thinking too much about the past or future often means we are losing our valuable ‘present’ time and fail to enjoy the things we have in our hands at the moment.

living-in-the-moment

“Harness the power of today. Seize the blessings of today! Make something happen, enhance your life, make someone laugh, help a friend, love, love, love!” Steve Maraboli

During my emotional roller coaster ride over the past few months, I have realized one thing – I need to start living and enjoying the present. Living my present in such a way that when I look back I feel happy that I have lived a happy and fulfilling life and this enthusiasm will flow down to my future. What I should do is not regret about what I have done or could have done and not repeat the same things in my future. Also, I have to realize that change happens around us all the time and there is no point comparing today with the “good ol’ days”. And then, there is the nagging worry-bug in us which can’t stop worrying and making us anxious of things that ‘might’ happen. As a result we over-think and over-plan which then makes us anxious and unhappy too.

Today’ is unique in its own way and is to be embraced the way it is. So I have decided –I will try to live in the present, as much as possible.

# I will take time to stop and smell the roses

# breathe gratefully for being alive

# let go of wishes and desires of unimportant/unachievable things

# be kind and gentle to myself by not taking too much pressure to please others

# forgive and forget those who hurt me (life is too short too hold long to grudges)

# do one task at a time

# take a break and make some space for myself – give myself some ‘me-time’

# smile more so that it fills my heart with warmth and makes me a happy person – inside out.

I choose to live in the present moment, with joy in my heart and a spring in my step – living, laughing and enjoying the moment! And I have started taking steps towards this ……..I hope I am successful in my efforts……wish me luck guys! 🙂

just for today(1)

I leave you people with a poem I stumbled upon recently –

Time of Your Life

Do you reflect upon the years gone byas you prepare for yet one more,with promises and resolutionsthat you have made before?

Do memories of people and placesonce as sharp as any knifenow blend in bits and piecesin a kaleidoscope of life?

Do you squander precious minutesseeking reasons why you’re here, contemplating your life’s purposeyear after passing year?

Persuade yourself to understand,it matters not the reason.Your purpose is to seize the lifein every passing season!

Learn to see things differently.Let your thoughts and actions change.Allow your views of past and presentto slowly rearrange.

Let your spirit start anew;become focused and awareof the moments and the blessingsthat surround you everywhere!

Do not permit past memories:the where…the who…the howto become more importantthan the ones you’re making now.

Live life in person;inhabit every day.You may not like where you are now,but you’re there anyway!

A lifetime is a puzzle,every failure, each successadds another jagged pieceto fit together with the rest.

To finish the pictureand view the masterpiece whole,fill the time of your lifewith your heart and your soul.

Acquaint yourself with your feelingsand heighten your senses.Experience living.Put down your defenses.

You don’t have to know whyyou are you, and I’m me.Believe it is what it isand it’s how it should be.

You did not choose your date of birth,nor do you know your last,so live this gift that is your present,before it becomes your past.

[By: Linda Ellis, copyright 2011]

Images: Google

19 comments

  1. Happy Birthday, belatedly, my dear friend. This was a very thought provoking post. It is very easy to loose focus and wish for the good-old-days. I like your positive attitude here. 🙂 Live for today! I hope your birthday was wonderful. ❤

  2. Lovey post Madhu! I wish you live everyday as you “live today!” 🙂
    Good luck with everything in life and belated birthday wishes!

    lots of love,
    ashima

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

