Remembering her…

578067_10150954174593290_327201636_nSource: Google

She suffered a stroke & it left her paralyzed. The ‘busy-bee’ who loved to chatter all day was now confined within the 4 walls of her room, lying on her bed. People – relatives, friends, neighbours, well-wishers – came & went, showing their concern & regret. Unable to utter a word to any of them, her tears trickled down from the corner of her eyes, down to the pillow her head was resting on.

Every now & then her grand kids visited her & tried to cheer her up. She struggled to convey her thoughts to them through inaudible sounds & slight movement of her facial muscles, that too with great difficulty. And once in a while, when they managed to understand what she wanted to say, her eyes lit up. Her lips made some movement as if she was trying to bring up a smile. And these were the times when she looked most beautiful to me, in those 6 months of her struggle & suffering.

Grandmas hold our tiny hands for a little while, but our hands forever ~ Unknown

P.S.:- This is a tribute to my Anai, my maternal grand ma, who was bed-ridden due to paralysis post her stroke. She had been one of the most positive & jovial person in my life. I love you Anai & I miss you!

My earlier post on my ANAI here – https://dreamzandclouds.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/miss-you-anai/

[THIS POST IS WRITTEN FOR WRITE TRIBE’S WEDNESDAY PROMPT No.5, 2014.THE PROMPT THIS WEEK IS – I/She looked most beautiful. CLICK HERE TO READ OTHER BLOGGERS’ TAKE ON THE PROMPT]

Cartoon__4_Wednesday_preview

27 comments

  1. Grandmoms are really very beautiful..and once again cheers to your creative mind for expressing the prompt so nicely…Beautiful tribute..

  2. Moving tribute to your grand ma. Plz don’t mind when people close to us suffer from stroke, I wish they die so that they don’t suffer. When my Dad was in the coma, I was secretly praying that he die peacefully..he was very active and just imagine how stroke make them suffer.
    Cheerz

    1. I did not mind Vishal, i understood what you were trying to mean.
      and yes, since we can’t escape death we need to cherish the good times as well as the bad times spent with our near & dear ones ……cheers to life & memories! 🙂

  3. What a beautiful tribute to your grandmother, and well told. My condolences on the loss, but my appreciation that you shared your heartfelt experiences with us.

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

