To food love!

table1152Image: Google

“The table is one of the most intimate places in our lives.  It is there that we give ourselves to one another.  When we say, ‘Take some more, let me serve you another plate, let me pour you another glass, don’t be shy, enjoy it,’ we say a lot more than words express.  We invite our friends to become part of our lives.  We want them to be nurtured by the same food and drink that nurture us.  We desire communion.  Every breakfast, lunch, or dinner can become a time of growing communication with one another.”   ~ Henri Nouwan, Bread for the Journey

Food is something I love…a lot. No matter how high a particular dish counts in the calorie scale I will still eat it if I love it. At the best I can moderate the amounts I gulp in…but that is all I can do in the name of healthy eating. 😛

The very word – food – evokes passionate emotions in me. How can you turn your face away, from perfectly barbecued chicken pieces / kebabs, the delicious oils dripping of all its goodness, especially on a cold, foggy winter night? How can you say no to a platter of lentil or onion fritters with a cup of tea on a wet, monsoon evening? How can you say no to a tall, chilled glass of lemonade when you come home from shopping one summer day? Naah! I cannot.

Then there were those good old Sundays. For me, till I moved out from home for higher studies, Sundays meant feast for my foodie soul. My Maa and also my elder sister cooked up special delicacies on these ‘fundays’. The menu comprised of healthy green veggies to deep fried fish to chicken curries and chutneys & what not. Slurrrp!

Being away from home, I and my lil’ sister try to recreate the Sundays at our humble abode in a city miles away from home. We somehow manage to come up with the dishes Maa & Baa (my sister) cooked, but what we cannot is the love that we savoured along with the food at home. The dining table where all of us sat down together, the incessant chattering & occasional scolding from Deuta (my father)for talking while eating, the fighting for the bigger piece of fish and sharing our individual stories of the week gone by – Sunday lunch was a fun filled affair. It was a melting pot of food, fun, family time & lots of happiness.

Food for me is much more than feeding our bodies. It evokes bonding, sharing and happiness too. Along with the taste of the food that is served, the emotions & feelings that come forth are equally important. Because then, both our body & the soul is nourished.  I feel blessed to have people around me, both family & friends, who enjoy the art of cooking & who eat with relish too….we celebrate food! 🙂

To food love! Cheers!!!

“I don’t know what it is about food your mother makes for you, especially when it’s something that anyone can make – pancakes, meat loaf, tuna salad – but it carries a certain taste of memory.” 
― 
Mitch Albom

I am participating in Write Tribe Festival of Words – 2. This post is under the theme of Day 2 – Food

Day 1 – Memories

vecchio libro con stilografica

Some more of my posts on food, etc.:

https://dreamzandclouds.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/ghar-ka-khana/

https://dreamzandclouds.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/maggi-mania/

https://dreamzandclouds.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/love-or-addiction/

https://dreamzandclouds.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/gym-woes/

13 comments

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

