If It’s Not Forever. It’s Not Love – my thoughts

ifitsnotforever

Click on the image above to reach the Goodreads page

Author: Durjoy Dutta & Nikita Singh

Blurb: If you die tomorrow, what would your last words be? It’s just another afternoon in Deb’s life, when a powerful blast rips across the heart of Delhi – Chandni Chowk. He is unhurt, but emotionally scarred. Haunted by the blast for many days, he seeks redemption. One day, while wandering near the blast site, he finds a half-burnt diary, written by someone who died on that fateful day. The burnt diary entrusts Deb with a strange responsibility – the last words of a dead man. Shrey, his best buddy since college, and Avantika, his girlfriend, unknowingly join him on his road trip, as he tries to put together the pieces of the dead guy’s intriguing story.

My thoughts:  I had picked up this book as I was looking for a light read. Also the blurb looked interesting. This is the first book written by Durjoy Dutta & Nikita Singh that I’ve read. The plot is about the adventure Deb & his friends undertakes to find the truth hidden behind the half – burnt diary that Deb found near a bomb blast site. The element of suspense & thrill the authors tried to put in was quite engaging in some parts. What I did not very much enjoy in the book are the repetitive portions about Avantika, which I felt were a little more than necessary. Also, Dev and Avantika’s ‘true’ love is narrated (read: asserted) many times, which again I felt was not so necessary for the main plot. Also, too much reference about sex, in the first half of the book was distracting for me & also seemed unnecessary to me. Then there was the love angle of Shrey & Tiya – something which I felt the authors over-indulged in. However, Ritam’s part was kind of sweet & cute for me. The plot in the book starts on an interesting note,  gets flat mid-way but then slowly the pace picks up & the climax is satisfactory. Overall a smooth, one-time read.

[This review is linked to my Indian Quills Challenge 2013 target (read about the challenge here)]

3 comments

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

