Diwali – lighting up our lives!

The past weekend was an illuminating one with glorious lights everywhere. Yes it was Diwali / Deepawali. As always, it was filled with traditions, worship of the Gods, loads of mithais and good wishes from family, friends, clients & well-wishers. This is one festival that is celebrated irrespective of religion and that’s what I love most about it. 🙂

I had already blogged about the origin, tradition & significance of Diwali last year (check out the post here – http://wp.me/p2Aqoq-2B). So this year I am sharing some of my Diwali moments in this post. 🙂  (I and my sister live away from home and so whenever we can’t be home for Diwali or any other festival, we try to celebrate it in our apartment in a humble way)

1. Rangolis – the main attraction 🙂

WP_20131101_004

@Office

WP_20131102_009

Made by me & my sister

WP_20131102_008

Made by me & my sister

2. Mithai

WP_20131103_010

WP_20131101_025

Love from clients & office

3. Lights & decorations

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

4. Fire Crackers

???????????????????????????????

WP_20131103_017

WP_20131101_021

@Office

I end my post with the closing lines of last year’s post –

In each legend, myth and story of Deepawali lies the significance of the victory of good over evil; and it is with each Deepawali and the lights that illuminate our homes and hearts, that this simple truth finds new reason and hope. From darkness unto light — the light that empowers us to commit ourselves to good deeds, that which brings us closer to divinity.

Regardless of how tough a year has been – the sights and sounds of Diwali, the love, camaraderie and good cheer that pervades the atmosphere, diminishes sorrows and manages to rekindle hope in the hearts of even the most seasoned cynics. Diwali is a celebration of life and all the good that it has to offer, it is a time for togetherness and bonding.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Diwali this year. Let us pledge to keep the spirit of the festival alive throughout the year.

4 comments

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

