SHINE ON

shine on award

Another pleasant surprise……actually two. Both Cleopatra Loves Books and Stephanie Thomas had nominated me for the SHINE ON Award. It is the 2nd award (read: love & appreciation) that adorns my blog. When I started blogging, I had started as an Anonymous writer and never thought someone would be interested to read my ramblings /musings. And so, every award nomination (in fact every like and every comment too) makes me feel elated that some people out there are reading what I write, & maybe even liking them.

Coming to the award, I have seen this award logo in many blogs I follow. When I tried to find out what this award meant I found this – “this award is for the blogs that shine, make you feel good and are inspiring to the reader.” And I had thought that I have a long way to go before I ever get nominated for this award. But I was proved wrong! 🙂

Anyways, here are the rules of the award:

  1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog, and link back.
  3. Share seven random, interesting things about yourself.
  4. Nominate up to 15 bloggers for the Shine On Award, provide a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.

Rule 1: Done

Rule 2: Done

Rule 3: Here are the random 7 facts about me –

1. I love making lists. I make lists for almost everything, even when I hardly stick to them religiously.

list

2. I enjoy watching animation movies. I guess I will never be old enough to not like them. Some of my favourites are – Up, Ratatouille (two of my favourites), Shrek, Toy Story, Cars, How to Train your Dragon, Kung Fu Panda, Ice Age, Finding Nemo, Madagascar, Monsters and many more……..

movies

3. I love to travel, in fact visit any new place. I try to grab every opportunity that comes my way to visit a new place – be it just across the corner or some destination, miles away.

travel

4. I think I can never enjoy or even be a part of activities up in the sky or for that matter, anything that involves heights. Whenever I sit on a roller coaster ride, on the way down, I experience an empty feeling / hollowness in my stomach and I hate that feeling. I feel I will die.

rollercoaster

5. I do not know how to swim (oops!).

swim

6. I shed a lot of tears. My tears spring out of my eyes even before I could control them. I have written about it here.

7. I am not much into fashion. I wear whatever is comfortable for me. But then I follow quite a number of fashion bloggers. I love the outfit posts they do in their blogs.

fashion

Rule 4: My nominees for this award are (in no particular order)…I had many others in mind but most of them have already been nominated.

  1. Peak Perspective – I love the way Shelley plays with words in her blog. And there are some superb illustrations too. Her ABOUT ME page is so impressive that I had to click the “follow” button in her blog. Love what you write Shelley!
  2. Eat, love, dance, pray, laugh n hug…. – a blog which makes me happy and love life. You can find here some awesome recipes too!
  3. Lime ‘n’ Lemony I had discovered her blog while looking for a book review. And something clicked between us. What I love most in her blog is the experiences she shares of her volunteering work/ philanthropic activities she is involved in. I had nominated her for the Liebster Award too.
  4. Creativwins – She was my first follower and one of the first bloggers I began following on WordPress. And I enjoy reading what she writes. She has not posted for quite a while and I hope she is back to the blogging world very soon.
  5. Divya’s Art Blog – an art blog. I love her work.
  6. Should be Reading – A book blog which introduced me to a lot of other wonderful book bloggers. I am most certainly grateful to her.
  7. Musings from a Bookmammal – A book blog I found through Should be Reading. I love the memes she participates and the content of her posts.
  8. The coffee loverr – I love the way she had planned out her blog. She writes 6 days a week and has divided the content of her blog into 6 categories. Now that is something which caught my attention.
  9. Just joyfulness – A blog for poems, photos and pondering.
  10. Book Bunny’s burrow – Another blog i found through Should be Reading. She writes about books and her 2 cute bunnies.

Do check out the blogs I have nominated. I am sure you will find something interesting to read in each of them. And yes, as a part of the rule, I have notified all my nominees about my nomination. I hope they accept it and carry the chain forward.

Thanks to both Cleopatra Loves Books and Stephanie Thomas once again for nominating me! You certainly made my day(s) and brought a smile on my face with your pat(s) on my back. 🙂

sun-2

Related links:

http://authorstephaniethomas.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/the-shine-on-award/

http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/the-shine-on-award/

Images: Google

22 comments

  1. Congratulations!! Well done and well deserved. And a huge thanks for suggesting so many wonderful bloggers. I fear I shall be enjoying other people’s words today and have no time for mine. C’est la vie, but oh so worth it. Cheers!

  2. Congrats! I make lists too. But my lists are so I can check off tasks completed and feel accomplished. House cleaning task list will never just say vacuum, it will say vacuum bedroom, living, etc. Again, I’m pleased for your Shine On nomination.

    1. Thanks a lot Andrea!
      I love checking off my lists too. Actually I fail to stick with my lists because I make too many of them and then have a hard time to hang on to them. 😛

  3. I’m with you on the 2 and 5 in the interesting things bout you. I totally relate. 😀 And thank you ever so much for the lovely nomination. Blogging just gets so much more fun when bloggers interact and appreciate each other’s works. I love the feel of your blog and chanced upon it having read your post on Aruni Kashyap’s wonderful book. Look forward to continuing this wonderful blogger friendship and reading more of your posts. Thank you again. You made my day.

    1. Truely said. The blogosphere is a wonderful place to meet some like-minded people. 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier or else i would have never found you. 🙂
      Cheers to blogging! 🙂

  4. Thank you for your nomination! I will be sure to check out the other blogs you’ve nominated. And–you should join in on some of those weekend memes I participate in. They’re a lot of fun, they get you thinking about things, and I’ve “met” some really great fellow bloggers who I never would have connected with otherwise. You should give it a try! 🙂

  5. Congrats, your blog really deserves the award 🙂 And thank you for nominating me ❤ I'm not sure if I'll be able to do the post because I'm so busy with university right now but I try to do it, I promise! 🙂

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

