WWW Wednesday (11/09/2013) – Vol. 7

www_wednesdays43

Hello book lovers! Welcome to another episode of WWW. This weekly book meme is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. To play along, we just have to answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?

• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading “Mistress of Spices” by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. I have loved her book Palace of Illusions a lot and I hope to enjoy this one too. A movie was also made with the same name starring Aishwarya Rai Bachchan. I hope to watch the movie when I get the chance. I have completed 3 chapters and I like it so far. Goodreads page here.

spices

I am also still reading “English Bites” by Manish Gupta. I have been sent this book by the author in exchange of an honest review. I hope to finish it this week.

I recently finished reading “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E L James. This book is ‘very different’ from what I usually read. It seems to be one book in the recent times that is either loved or hated all over the book reading community. Having heard a lot about it and to feed my curiosity, I gave it a try. I believe that different books cater to different people, so to each his own. Also, if I do not have anything nice to say about a book, I refrain from talking about it. But because there are some things which I liked, I am sharing it here. Fifty Shades is definitely not a great piece of literature. For me the sex part of the book did not go down quite well. In fact some of the descriptions were very grotesque. But I did come to know about things like BDSM, Dominant, Submissive, etc. from this book. I was only vaguely aware of this kind of a world. And as for the story, I loved the romance part. The fact that in spite of having grey shades in him, Christian was making efforts to give ‘more’ to Anastasia was kind of cute for me. Love transforms all. 🙂

50

Regarding the book I will read next, I am not yet decided. Right now, I have two books in mind –The Secret Wish List by Preeti Shenoy or The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

mix

But, as always, only time will tell what book I pick up for my next read, one of the above or something else.

WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW Wednesday posts or your comments (if you don’t have a blog), so that I can check out what you’re reading. Till then, happy reading!

Images: Goodreads

34 comments

  1. I read 50 Shades, too, and couldn’t figure out the fuss about it. But if it gets people reading, then go for it!

  2. Interesting choices. I read the first two 50 shades books. I was bored and didn’t read the last. The first was interesting but like you not my usual read. Thanks for stopping by my site

    1. That’s what I feel about books, if i don’t enjoy it I will not read it. I will give the other two in the series a shot and if they can grasp my interest, I may finish both, only time will tell 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by!

  3. I haven’t read Fifty Shades. From what I hear it has too much sex in it for me – I don’t mind some. Sometimes I think I should read it to see for myself, but then I think, why? there are so many other great books out there that I want to read! It’s cool you gave it a shot, and I really enjoyed hearing your thoughts! Thanks!

  4. I’ve read 50 Shades of Gray as well, I’ve also read the fanfiction it came from. Not really my cup of tea….but hey to each their own. I think for me the “love” story part got overshadowed by his need to dominate her.

  5. I read The Great Gatsby in high school, but I don’t really remember it. With that said, the only other book I read on your list was Fifty Shades, and I absolutely agree with you that everyone has their own thing. I didn’t love or hate it. I read the whole series simply because I wanted to know more about Christian’s back story and why he was the way he was. With that being said, book 2 was my favorite, but I thought book 3 was mostly pointless. Also, I’m not into BDSM, but from what I’ve heard, it is actually grossly misrepresented in that book. I honestly don’t know enough about it to know how accurate the book is or isn’t.

    Anyway, thanks for stopping by my blog, and happy reading!

  6. Thanks for checking out my list today. I thinks it’s cool you want to read The Great Gatsby, I’m currently reading Pride and Prejudice. The Mistress of Spices seems to be worth a look.

  7. I’ve only read excerpts of 50 shades and it wan’t my style of book, so it’s nice to hear your thoughts. I personally didn’t like the writing. I want to read The Great Gatsby as well. My poor never ending to-read list. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by my blog.

  8. I really enjoyed your take on 50 Shades. While I haven’t read the book (and don’t really plan to), I know several people who really enjoyed it, not for the sex, but for the story and the relationship between the two characters. It’s not really my thing, but hey, to each their own. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    And The Great Gatsby is a wonderful book. It was my favorite out of everything I read back in college.

  9. The Mistress of Spices looks interesting, I should look up the premise for that. I love that you have the Holstee Manifesto on your sidebar. 🙂

  10. Currently reading Sebastian Barry’s ‘A Long Long Way’ as part of my plan to read more World War One literature in preparation for the centenary 1914-1918/2014-2018 events starting next year. Also on my bedside cabinet is Antony Beevor’s ‘The Battle for Spain: the Spanish Civil War 1936-1939’ which I dip into. I need something light after that so possibly I’ll re-read Daphne du Maurier’s ‘Rebecca’ or try my husband’s recommendation ‘Me Cheeta’, a spoof Hollywood memoir by James Lever. SD

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

