Sea of faces

sea of faces

 “I think there’s just one kind of folks. Folks.” 
Harper LeeTo Kill a Mockingbird

Today, like every other day, I was coming to work in an auto. And suddenly a thought passed my mind. Without my realizing it, everyday in my commute from home to work, I make my way through a sea of faces. As my mind started thinking about it I realized that some faces at particular points of my route – traffic points, shops, auto-stand, etc. – have become familiar to me. For example, I see an old & haggard magazine seller at one traffic point almost regularly. He does not seem to be much interested in selling his wares. Then there are the auto drivers of the auto-stand near my home, they are familiar faces now. I do not have to tell them my destination anymore.  Two-three traffic policemen I see every now and then at the two traffic points I have to cross on my way. I particularly am amused by one short & stout policeman. He seems kind of cute in a way like Humpty  Dumpty. 🙂 And there are many more…..

But most of the times I see new faces – everyday, without fail. The duration of my travel from home to office is about 10-15 min and during this short span of time, I see new faces everyday – man/woman, boys/girls, tall/short, in uniform, fat/thin and in all kinds of shape, sizes, type. It is then that this realization dawns upon me. Each of this face has their own stories of happiness & sadness, love & hate, rise & fall. When someone is laughing, maybe someone else is trying hard to control the tears from trickling down. When someone is waiting, maybe someone else has just finished his/her wait. When someone is tensed, someone else just got relieved. When someone is being mean, someone else is being kind, unexpectedly. When someone is thanking the rains, maybe someone else is cursing it. When someone is feeling lonely, maybe another wants to be left alone. When someone is losing hope, maybe another is still clinging on to the last ray. Maybe in this sea of faces, on a particular day, I identify most with the one which reflect my emotion at that point of time.

Wow! Till today, I did not realize the enormous sea of faces (and emotions too!) that I pass through every day. Isn’t it amazing?

“I think that my job is to observe people and the world, and not to judge them. I always hope to position myself away from so-called conclusions. I would like to leave everything wide open to all the possibilities in the world.” 
Haruki Murakami

Image: Google

One comment

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

