Cry baby?

tumblr_mavr0ilPlZ1rdulg8o1_500

 

Have you experienced that familiar feeling which starts with a quivering lip, faster blinking, hollow feeling in the stomach, a lump in the throat and blood gushing to the face……and before you know it, tears slipping down the corner of your eyes?

My sisters & many of my friends know that I cry almost at the drop of a hat. As a child when I could not cope up with the atrocities (!) of my sisters & cousin (who lived with us), I shed tears….. not that I wanted to, but because they came automatically once I can take it no longer. They used to complain that I try to win always by shedding tears (it was not true….naah….not at all).

As I grew older, my tear ducts found newer avenues to shed the water in them. Apart from the times I got hurt, I also cried for a beautiful heart touching song, an emotional movie, a genuine compliment coming my way, a breathtaking scenery, being mad at someone and not able to speak my mind to that person, a friend’s loss, for the growing flab around my waist, for my near & dear ones….. & sometimes for the heck of it. I may not wail loud to bring down the roof, but in these occasions & many others, I experience that familiar feeling and a tiny prick in the corner of my eye and a lump in my throat.

“Do not apologize for crying. Without this emotion, we are only robots.” 

― Elizabeth GilbertEat, Pray, Love

Many a times I wonder, does crying signify weakness? In the society we live, the answer maybe is yes. Especially in our professional lives, tears certainly are considered to be a sign of weakness. But then, for me being able to cry is so human & real. It is therapeutic. It may be ill – timed, humiliating or unattractive, but many will agree with me on this that it makes us feel better. It unburdens us of the mental baggage & clears our head. A perfect stress reliever. They even say that people feel better after a good cry because hormones associated with stress are released and eliminated. Also, crying maybe considered as a sign of maturity too; of being confident to handle and express our emotions.

But then, shedding tears is not always appropriate. A tear in response to a sad/emotional event is understood, but crying over sour grapes or to be manipulative is not correct.

At a personal level, I shed tears quite often. I find it difficult to keep my emotions in check…… and so I let them flow out (if not always, but most of the times). I cry out of relief, joy, sadness, loneliness, pain & for many more emotions. I believe one who cries aloud, laughs the easiest & loudest. Also, once I cry my heart out, my anger/sadness, etc. comes down to a great extent. It becomes easier to forgive, forget and move on.

So, does this make me a cry baby?

 “I have been crying,” she replied, simply, “and it has done me good. It helps a woman you know, just as swearing helps a man.” 

― Horace Annesley VachellThe Romance of Judge Ketchum

Image: Tumblr

5 comments

  1. Well….shedding tears always doesn’t mean that you are a cry baby. Its just that you are too emotional. And the next time something tries to tickle your tear ducts try some resilience from within and not give in to those “tear ducts” 😉

  2. Loved your thoughts… i find tears in happy moments more than sad moments….i cry when i’m extremely happy… :)… your blog is beautiful, but the size of font is a bit small…

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

