WWW Wednesday (26/06/2013) – Vol. 3

www_wednesdays43(click on the pic above to reach MizB)

Hello everyone! This is my 3rd WWW Wednesday post. 🙂

This weekly book meme is hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. To play along, we just have to answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading the “The Homing Pigeons” by Sid Bahri.

The Homing Pigeons Cover ok

I came to know about this book in many blogs. Having started the book just yesterday I cannot really comment on the book now. Nonetheless the blurb of the book is given below:

In the middle of the catastrophic 2008 recession, Aditya, a jobless, penniless man meets an attractive stranger in a bar, little does he know that his life will change forever…..
When Radhika, a young, rich widow, marries off her stepdaughter, little does she know that the freedom that she has yearned for is not exactly how she had envisioned it…..
They say Homing Pigeons always come back to their mate, no matter where you leave them on the face of this earth. Homing Pigeons is the story of love between these two unsuspecting characters as it is of lust, greed, separations, prejudices and crumbling spines.

I recently finished reading two books –

i. The Other Side of the Table by Madhumita Mukherjee – I was a bit out-of-sync with the medical jargons but other than that, for me, the book was an easy read. The myriad of emotions are conveyed with a sense of maturity. We can actually witness the lives of Abhi & Uma growing and changing over the years. One of the best things about the book for me is the feeling of subtleness, without any piece of melodrama.

It’s a lovely & mature story told well. A definite must-read. Review here.

otherside of table

ii. If it’s not Forever, it’s not Love by Durjoy Dutta & Nikita Singh – This is the first book written by Durjoy Dutta & Nikita Singh that I’ve read. The beginning of the book was interesting, in the middle it got a little boring but slowly the pace picked up & the end was satisfactory.

However, the repetitive portions about Avantika were a little more than necessary. Also, Dev and Avantika’s love is narrated many times, which I felt was not so necessary for the main plot.

ifitsnotforever

Regarding the book I will read next, I have three books that I received as my birthday presents. I am excited about all three of them. So which one I will pick amongst them, only time will tell. The books I have are:

New Folder1

  1. The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
  2. The Legend of Amrapali by Anurag Anand
  3. Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Spark

WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW Wednesday posts or your comments (if you don’t have a blog), so that I can check out what you’re reading.

Till then, happy reading! 🙂

Images: Goodreads

22 comments

  1. Although I haven’t heard of the books you have here (with the exception of Nicholas Sparks), they all look interesting. I like your short opinion on The Other Side of the Table – I may have to check that out.

    Happy Reading, and thanks for visiting Jessie Marie Reads!

  2. Oh, that blurb for homing pigeons made me want to read it! I hope it is good 🙂 I haven’t read any of the others, gotta add them to my list – happy reading!

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

