WWW Wednesdays Vol. 2 (12/06/2013)

www_wednesdays43

(WWW Wednesday is hosted by MizB; you can click on the pic above to reach her blog)

So finally I am writing my 2nd WWW Wednesday post (here is my 1st post) I am not a very fast reader, so it is not possible for me to post every week. Nevertheless, I shall do it every time I am ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

Taking a cue from Ashima from http://limenlemony.wordpress.com, I am including a little detail of the books in this post.

To play along, we just have to answer the following three (3) questionsโ€ฆ

โ€ข What are you currently reading?
โ€ข What did you recently finish reading?
โ€ข What do you think youโ€™ll read next?

Lately, I am into books written by upcoming Indian authors. And so far, I have not been disappointed much.

I am currently reading the โ€œThe Other Side of the Tableโ€ by Madhumita ย Mukherjee.

otherside of table

The Goodreads description of the book says-

โ€œCirca 1990.
A world drawn and woven with words.
A bond punctuated by absence and distance…
Two continents. Two cities. Two people.
And letters. Hundreds of them.
Over years. Across oceans. Between hearts.
Between Abhi, who is training to be a neurosurgeon in London, and Uma, who is just stepping into the world of medicine in Kolkata.
As they ink their emotions onto paper, their lives get chronicled in this subtly nuanced conversation through letters … letters about dreams, desires, heartbreaks, and longings… about a proverbial good life falling apart, about a failed marriage, a visceral loss, and about a dream that threatens social expectations…
Letters that talk. And don’t. Letters about this and that. Letters about everything…
Letters with a story you would never expect. โ€œ

The very idea of a story of two persons written in the form of a series of letters intrigued me and so did some reviews in Goodreads. Also, I liked the cover of the book where the connection between the 2 protagonists in 2 cities has been depicted. Nice ๐Ÿ™‚ย And so I picked up this book. I have read only a few pages and so far I like it.

I recently finished reading โ€œTo Sir, With Loveโ€ by E.R. Braithwaite.

to sir

In my 1st WWW Wednesday post I had said I will read โ€œChanakyaโ€™s Chantโ€ by Ashwin Sanghi. But instead of that, I read two different books โ€“ โ€œTake One More Chanceโ€ by Shriya Garg (review here) & โ€œTo Sir, With Loveโ€ by E R Braithwaite (a detailed review coming up shortly).

For me, โ€œTo Sir, With Loveโ€ was both thought provoking & inspiring. The book talks about racism and also about how a teacher has great impact on the lives of his/her students.

What attracted me in this book was the ย charcater of Mr Braithwaite. The way he conducted himself, inspite of people discriminating against him for the colour of his skin, and the way he brought in a change into the lives of his uncouth & unruly students (with his examples, morals & intelligence), was very inspiring.

New York Times had rightly said about the book, โ€œA book that the reader devours quickly, ponders slowly, forgets not at allโ€ฆ.. Moving and inspiringโ€.

Regarding the book I will read next, I am not quite sure. I have a set of new books. So which one I will pick amongst them, only time will tell. The books I have are:

  1. The Homing Pigeons by Sid Bahri (I have read a lot of positive reviews about this book)
  2. If It’s Not Forever. It’s Not Love by Durjoy Datta & Nikita Singh
  3. Chanakyaโ€™s Chant by Ashwin Sanghi

collage

I feel WWW Wednesday is a great way to discover new books. So friends, feel free to leave your links to your WWW Wednesday posts or your comments (if you donโ€™t have a blog), so that I can check out what youโ€™re reading.

Till then, keep reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Images: Google & Goodreads

19 comments

  1. What a great post! Never worry about your reading speed! I’m quite a fast reader, but sometimes I go through dry spells. I have read a few books from Indian authors. They are special!

    1. Hey Cynthia!
      Thanks for stopping by my WWW! I never worry about my reading speed as long as i get to read books. And yes, I am enjoying my books ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I second Chrissi, never worry about or apologize for your reading speed. I think it is awesome that you are sharing your WWW when you can. I read pretty quickly, but I don’t do WWW every week, simply because I don’t always want to talk about the books I am reading. So to each their own! I don’t normally like epistolary novels, but The Other Side of the Table has been added to my TBR pile, as has To Sir, With Love… because I am a sucker for a good classic!

    My WWW: http://wp.me/p2mVA8-as

    1. Hey Erin!
      Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I never worry about my reading speed as long as I can read them. Its just that WWW is supposed to be a weekly thing and i manage to do it only once in a month. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And, you should most certainly read “To Sir, With Love”.
      Happy reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ The Other Side of the Table looks very interesting! Can’t wait for you to review it.
    Have you considered putting follow via Bloglovin’ to one of the following options? I would really love to start to follow your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hey Book Bunny!
      Thanks for stopping by! And yes, I too can’t wait to finish The Other Side of the Table. Will surely review it after I have finished reading.
      About bloglovin’, I had not given a thought to it earlier, but today I added it. Thanks for your suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

