Birthday musings

bday musings

It’s that time of the year again, when I start getting ready to add and blow one more candle on my cake. In 5 days, I will be one more year closer to the big 3-0 !!!

As a kid, I would wait eagerly for this special day of mine. I got to distribute chocolates at school and I felt myself at the centre of the universe with everyone around me – family, friends, relatives – showering their love on me….. and also the gifts. 🙂 The best part was at the end of the day, when I got to unwrap my gifts one by one – with immense anticipation and excitement. For me, the gift did not matter the most, but it’s the whole process of unwrapping the neatly packed shiny package with great anticipation as to what it may reveal. I am fond of nicely packed gifts. And it gives me immense pleasure to open them. I always open my gifts carefully taking out the cello tapes on the packaging. And maybe this is why I take great care in packing gifts for others as well. 🙂 Once my gifts were opened, I loved to display them neatly arranged on top of my study table at home.

As I matured, the events of my special day changed and so did my gifts. However, the feeling of specialness that this day brings has not been lost even today. I still like to stack my gifts and proudly show them off to anyone who was interested to see.

Today, now when I have reached my late twenties (omg….when did that happen!) I realize I am still that little girl in the new frilly frock. My body might be ageing but my mind has not. I am still that little girl who finds joy in little gestures, loves getting pampered, waits eagerly for birthday messages when the clock strikes 12, and the little surprises from friends and family on the special occasion.

So, 28 here I am…..ready to embrace you…. in all your goodness and bad, because no matter how many candles I add to my cake, I know I will always be that lil’ girl. 🙂

9febfc10af71ade877eb6bcd11ef8f5bIts my birthday and i will eat all the cake i want to 🙂

Images: Pinterest

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

