The splendid light that rules the night

LittleGirlMoon

After a long and tiresome day at office, on reaching home I laid down on my bed to straighten my spine. I had switched off the lights to create a serene and peaceful ambience for myself, so that i could relax. Suddenly I felt a ray of light on my face. The curtains in my room had been drawn down. So I tried to check where the light was coming from.  I live in the 2nd floor of my building and there were no high lights anywhere nearby. Then, I got a peek of the magnificent moon, shining brightly, through the ventilators of my room. The picture was such a breathtaking one that it kind of pulled me towards it. I opened the windows and sat in my bed to appreciate the Creator’s splendid creation.

I like the moon. I get a warm feeling when looking at the moon at night. My corporate life had grasped me in such a way that I had forgotten to pause and admire the beauty of nature. It has been quite some time since I have been able to spend any amount of time admiring the beautiful night sky. The full moon across my window made me realize this. Till my student life, from childhood to post graduation days, I always had some time to look at the moon and take in its brilliant radiance. It kind of rejuvenated me and filled me with a different kind of energy. As a kid, in the summers, when there used to be load shedding in my hometown, all the other kids in my neighbourhood along with my sisters had a nice time staring at the sky – at the moon and stars, trying to locate the pole star, constellations, etc. I kind of felt sad thinking about those days of carefree life and having time to stop and have a look at the world around me.

When I was looking at the moon that night, it seemed to be smiling majestically in the sky and reminding me of the good old days. It was enriching the beauty of the night. It was simply gorgeous! The moon seemed to be soaking away all my fatigue and filling me up with peace, calmness and happiness.

The moon changes its shape at regular intervals. The full moon fascinates me the most. And so does the crescent shaped new moon. For me, the former signifies the completion of a journey undertaken and the latter means a new beginning for me. This is infact how life is – after every completed journey, we embark on new ones.

Today, looking at the moon, I have realized there are positive things in life and these things make life beautiful. Life may be unfair or mean sometimes but if we have hope and faith, all the negativity and ugliness can be buried or overshadowed, by these positive things.

“The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. It’s always there, watching, steadfast, knowing us in our light and dark moments, changing forever just as we do. Every day it’s a different version of itself. Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human.
Uncertain. Alone. Cratered by imperfections.”

~ Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me

Would love to hear your thoughts.........

